Arrived in Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
March 13th 2013
Published: March 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

View outside our room in WhistlerView outside our room in WhistlerView outside our room in Whistler

If only I felt better and could get on the snow!
So we arrive at the hotel 11.15pm local time (6.15 am English time) after a 2 hour transfer in a taxi and all I can say is I am absolutely knackered even after sleeping practically the whole flight. I think this cough is getting the better of me. So I wake at 3.30 am and Mike is not a happy chappy with me at all - how can I help it I have slept nearly 24hours!

The hotel is fantastic and we have a room which overlooks the slopes it is an amazing sight. I can now see why the hotels boasts ski in ski out facilities.

I think we are going to check out the hotel today and the surrounding area and get our ski pass ready for skiing tomorrow. Well we checked out the area and the hotel we are staying at is in a great position but a bit out of town. The hotel does have a shuttle bus - so we tried it out and took it into town.

Now my honest thoughts on Whistler - it is characterless, yes I have said it. If I am honest I was expecting it to be quaint and really characterful but it is quite the opposite. Both Mike and I are still feeling a little bit under the weather and if I am honest Mike is probably feeling a lot more under the weather than I am as my antibiotics are kicking in.

With Whistler being a purpose built resort all I can say is everything is expensive so it looks like this trip is going to be an expensive one - bite the bullet I think on this.

So we decided to go to the jacuzzi which was really nice and relaxing which is what we both need at the moment.

Well woke up this morning and feel a lot better still coughing and snotty but I am sure I feel a lot better than yesterday and to be honest I think my mood is a lot better also - which is a bonus for poor Mike.

We have booked some ski lessons for the next 3 days so at least we will be hitting the slopes - I must admit I could not have hit the slopes before then as I have no energy - hoping tomorrow I wake up feeling better than today which would be a fab bonus. Going to the jacuzzi and even might try one of the outdoor hot pools as well - must be feeling better.

Advertisement



14th March 2013

I told you that you should have just come to ontario to ski. But you have to see the Rockies once. Now you can check it off your bucket list. Next year come to me. lol. Hope you are both feeling better.

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb