Biking Across Canada - The Adventure Begins May 12, 2011!


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Start Line: Victoria


Getting the Game Face On.Getting the Game Face On.Getting the Game Face On.

Training continues on the Galloping Goose.

The Stinky Feet Project continues! I will begin traveling across Canada by bicycle on May 12, 2011. This 100-day journey will cover up to 7500 km, starting from Victoria, British Columbia.

There are three objectives of the journey:

• Raise funds for the Trans Canada Trail
• Harvest solar power to supply 100%!o(MISSING)f my electricity needs
• Share compelling and entertaining stories/photos about Canada


I should probably add pedaling my brains out to that list.

Yes, it's going to be a blast! The route is unique and follows a combination of recreational trails, logging roads, minor highways, and suburban streets in an effort to avoid busy traffic and maximize my exposure to wacky and wonderful communities from coast to coast!

I'll be equipped with a GPS receiver, camera and laptop, so you can expect all the ridiculous stories that you've come to expect from me along the way. The best part is, these stories will be completely powered by solar electricity (for the electronics) as well as junk food and beer (for me).

I will be uploading blogs to this Travelblog page, so if you just stumbled onto this page by accident, don't forget to subscribe!

The WheelsThe WheelsThe Wheels

My home for 3 months or so..
And feel free to send a link of this page to your friends, they'll love you for it.

As mentioned above, the main purpose of the journey is to raise funds for the Trans Canada Trail, and for the first month I'll be bringing you stories from British Columbia's portion of the trail. A small route map can be found below; for a full version, visit my web site where you can learn more about the journey, view the entire route, and get more info on fundraising info and my equipment.

The web site address is www.stinkyfeetproject.org

You can also receive updates on Facebook by "liking" my Facebook page: www.facebook.com/stinkyfeetproject. 37 friends and counting, baby!

For the next week I'll be getting everything ready for the journey. I'll admit that I'm a see-saw of emotions; nervous one minute, then excited the next. However, I appreciate everyone's enthusiasm for the adventure, which has made me feel a lot better about it. So........

Thanks for joining the adventure!

Clive

Rough Schedule
May 12-13: Vancouver Island (Victoria, Salt Spring, Chemainus, Nanaimo)
May 14: Downtown Vancouver
May 15: Langley/Mission
May 16: Chiliwack/Hope

--About The Trans Canada Trail--

The Trans Canada Trail is the world's longest network of trails. When completed, the trail will stretch 22,000 km between the Pacific, Atlantic and Arctic Oceans, linking 1000 communities and all Canadians.

The trail is one of Canada's truly great endeavours. Experience Canada's legendary wilderness, explore provincial and territorial capitals, canoe the routes of early explorers, visit national and provincial parks, commute to and from work, cycle historic rail trails and picnic in urban parks.

With over 16,500 km already in active use, the trail is nearing completion; the goal is to have the entire trail in operation in 2017 for Canada's 150th birthday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BC RouteBC Route
BC Route

First part of the route. For more route maps, visit my web site!


4th May 2011

looking forward to read about it!
4th May 2011

Best Of Luck!
Hey Clive!!!! I wonder about you now and again, i will never for get your other Journeys!!!! I'll fly above ya on this on too! Great to see ya! Christine
5th May 2011

Good luck! Bring a spare!!
Hey Clive, best of luck on this one! One thing you always do well is prepare for the worst so I guess I don't need to tell you to bring a spare heh! I'd also consider a satellite phone, and something for the bears, they love meals on wheels haha!
5th May 2011

Thanks!
Thanks for the advice Mark!! No worries about the bears; I'm armed to the teeth with bear flares, as well as mace for dogs, and a kerosene flamethrower for zombies.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 105; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb