Last day


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
April 8th 2016
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 49.2605, -123.114

It's sad that our Pacific Northwest adventures are coming to an end. But not before my niece drove me round and visited some sites out of town.

We had coffee and a Nanaimo Bar in West Vancouver, a very well heeled district with great views.

Then we drove to Deep Cove, which was a gorgeous place, especially in the sunshine. The lunch at Arms Reach Bistro was very pleasant, but I did get an oily salad leave on my shirt. Then again, I'm sitting at the back of the plane, so nobody will care.

The next port of call was Commercial Drive, a slightly more down to earth area of town with independent shops and cafés. It's more like a normal suburban high street. I'd like to come back next time and get to know the area better.

Before heading to the airport, we visited Queen Elizabeth Park. It was a beautiful place with a charming oriental garden. They have also installed a Henry Moore sculpture called Knife Edge. Not in the oriental garden mind. The views from the highest point was fantastic.

Then it was time to get to the terminal and catch my flight. It's been a fabulous trip. We
Beach in West VancouverBeach in West VancouverBeach in West Vancouver

Nice and tranquil.
have seen, done, experienced and eaten so much. I have no idea how many photos I have taken on my phone and my camera. Judging by the constant warning from my phone about low storage space, many, many photos I suspect. This trip has to b up there as one of the best ones, and of course I got to see my niece after so many years. Blooming marvellous!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Yummy saladYummy salad
Yummy salad

But with a naughty jumping salad leave!
Deep CoveDeep Cove
Deep Cove

Gorgeous! Lots of people kayaking.


9th April 2016

Y ahora ?quantos pesos?
10th April 2016

Etsuko-san, I weigh myself this morning and I have only put on 2 kgs. So not too bad considering.
13th April 2016

Loved reading all about your trip - a great mix of food, history, culture and family by the sounds of it. thanks for sharing :-)

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb