Canadian visit home...Vancouver, Kelowna and the Island


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Stanley ParkStanley ParkStanley Park

The walk...the talk...the tankers behind.
So here goes...having postponed putting this site together for the last 5 months, I've finally got my act together. Ironically, I am no longer in Vancouver (sitting in a Cairo internet cafe) but it's best to start this site properly, with the amazing couple of months that I spent at home. This was the first visit in 8 years to be more than 2 weeks, which meant a proper catch up with friends and family all over the place. But as I want to crack on to where I am now, I'll try my best to keep this short and sweet!

My first couple of weeks were quiet, but I soon set off on foot around the city I've missed so over the years. What amazing weather, I know I know, I was extremely lucky, as rain is what Vancouverites know most about. But having been away there were a lot of other things that I noticed about Vancouver. The cars are very big, the cherry blossoms are everywhere and it simply smells good. The outdoor lifestyle is prevelant on every corner, the streets are clean and people seem to smile at you! The 'city of glass' is a very
Bench TalkersBench TalkersBench Talkers

Catching up with mates in front of English Bay
accurate description for Yaletown. And then of coarse there's North Van. I really do appreciate the fact that it's just the same. Comforting.

I then rented a car for a drive up to Kelowna to see my dearest friend Kathy and her family. What a reminder of how everybody's life really does move along when you live abroad. I want to post photos of everybody, but I think Kath might think otherwise! We very nearly pissed ourselves laughing at the high school notes written to one another! Then I spent some time learning how to use mom's old camera on the drive back from a day skiing at Big White.

The next trip was a couple of weeks over on the Island. Stayed in Tofino and took in what I could of the whale festival. Visited the hot springs, bike riding to Long Beach (wow-what sunsets there!) hiking on Meares Island even watching a native totem pole being raised. Then it was off to Courtenay to visit Doug and Christine and my niece Evy. Fab house guys, and it seems like such a wise move! Finally, a train journey down to Victoria. Couldn't help laughing outloud as I
Break timeBreak timeBreak time

Rollerblading the wall deserves a break...eh?
sat on the train and was waved at by all the children. Trains are certainly different in the UK! Victoria was a great visit too, saw my friend Jen stylin in her new pad and just chilled out at the coffee shops before catching a 45 minute sea plane back to downtown Vancouver harbour. I'd done this flight before, and it was just as excillerating the second time around!!

Back in Vancouver and I'm really starting to cram in the visits with friends and family. Lunch with Debbie in New West, poker with Michelle in North Van, drinks with Sara downtown (great friends of too!) coffee with Tash, sushis with dad, snowshoeing with mom...I did it all but I now have to go!!!

It was an amazing visit that photos can only partly justify. I've figured out how to get them on here, but I'm going to have to do another entry for the second CD. It's late and I must get some sleep!! Well, tomorrow I'll add more and fill you in on my last few weeks in the UK packing up to where I am now....HOT IN CAIRO!!







Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Stanley ParkStanley Park
Stanley Park

Walking the sea wall is a Vancouver must. To walk, rollerblade, bike or run...or better yet, sit and watch!
From Stanley ParkFrom Stanley Park
From Stanley Park

Then there are those that kayak by...
City 'LivinCity 'Livin
City 'Livin

Douglas Coupland wrote a book, 'City of Glass'...seems appropriate doesn't it?
Approaching KeremeosApproaching Keremeos
Approaching Keremeos

Drive out of Vancouver and this is what you get...a few hours later
Think they're cold?Think they're cold?
Think they're cold?

Drivin down from Big White...Canadian cows!!
This is not what the average Canadian does...This is not what the average Canadian does...
This is not what the average Canadian does...

These guys must be cold!! Said they were catching trout, havin a bit of a party by the looks of it!!
Kelowna waterfrontKelowna waterfront
Kelowna waterfront

Aaaagggggggghhhhh, was such a perfect spot to stop and read the paper. Wasn't tryin to get away from the kids Kath, I promise!!
North of Kelowna...can't 'member place name other than Kath's parents!!North of Kelowna...can't 'member place name other than Kath's parents!!
North of Kelowna...can't 'member place name other than Kath's parents!!

Waking up to this view every morning? Life is very good...


15th May 2005

photos
photos show many aspects of life in Vancouver, such a beautiful city. - kate
16th May 2005

Cairo!?!
Hi Fiona! I didn't realize you'd already left for Cairo! Funny coincidence, as I'm reading a novel set there right now ("The Map of Love" by Ahdaf Soueif). I'm looking forward to following your journey through this blog - what a great idea. Take care of yourself, and happy trails! - Deborah McIntosh
21st May 2005

The two Vancouver journals
Hi Fiona, They look great. I'm really looking forward to your Cairo and Jordan journals. Love, Ian
25th May 2005

Beautiful!
Hi Fiona! Beautiful photographs! Looking forward to seeing photos from the rest of the world too... Have fun! - Stina
7th October 2006

Wow...... I'm so jelous of your travels
Who would have thought after 5 plus years of not talking that we'd meet today in a :Coffee House" of all places! It was a pleasure to see you again and catch up; be it ever so briefly. I can't wait to see your show here in Van, if there is anything I can do to help, please don't hesitate to ask..... You can reach me at cdmounty@shaw.ca, or 604.831.5126. Take care, Chris Mount (la maison de poissons)

Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 153; dbt: 0.1807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb