Arrival in Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
November 5th 2013
Published: November 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well I have 3 days to catch up, not going to be easy.

Finally arrived in Vancouver at 12:05 pm exactly on November 5, Canada time. I'm totally exausted as I didn't get to sleep in the plane.

Sitting next to a snoring women, the cute guy was at the end of the plane ! Typicall 😊

Anyway all went well, on my first flight from Paris to Frankfurt, I saw the most magnificent sunrise, sorry no pictures, next time I'll reminder to always have my camera on me ! lol

Stars good, I see my luggage has also made the trip over to Vancouver ! Funny how you always get stressed while waiting for your bag, seeing all the others going round and round the travelator.

Problems begin after. Something they didn't like when I went through the passport check in as they then sent me to the customs. At this time I just wanted one thing, was sleep and have this enormous bag off of my back.

Had to wanswer loads of questions, man checked all my emails, asked me where I worked before, where I was heading afterwoods, where I would work next, where I was staying, for how long, if I new anyone in Vancouver, how did I pay my trip, why I was coming on my own, etc...

Finally, after 30 minutes of waiting and 30 minutes of questions, I was out ! And I just thought, what the hell am I doing here.

But that didn't last as I was quickly very well welcomed by the information people who were very happy to answer my questions on my way round.

So got on the Skytrain, direction downtown, where my lovely youth hostel is. I'm adding a few pictures of my first discovery of the city. Not the best part of town, I admit !!

I easily find my way to the St Clair's hotel, get a room and drop my bag. Ok the corridor smells like toilets, it's not very clean, but I have a bed and can have a shower, what and directly go back out, before I fall asleep.

Went walking through the streets, direction Canada place and discover the beauty of Vancouver when I see North Vancouver. So had a nice walk around there, got to the tourism office where I got really well informed with a big smile and then headed to the Art Gallery where I got to see the Charles Edenshaw exibition, beautiful.

Then I had another problem, finding something to eat. You all know how difficult I am. Well I thought I would be happy with Vancouver and find nice healthy food ! Wrong. Only junk food everywhere. I was starving and finally found a lovely sushi place, was closed, but as Canadians are so kind, the cook was very happy to prepare me a few sushis to take away.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb