Getting Ready


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
December 9th 2010
Published: December 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I spent $300 CAD on shots last week. I had to get: Yellow Fever, Typhoid, Tetanus/Diptheria and Hepatitis A. I also got Dukoral which I take this weekend in a liquid form and again next weekend. The travel clinic nurse also gave me prescriptions for malaria, altitude sickness and some antibiotics in case I get any stomach flu. I spent a few days with my arms in agony, fevers, chills... apparently my body was just not ready in any way for vaccines!

It makes me wonder why we go travelling in places where we might die unless we get vaccinated. Part of me worries, but the other part is EXCITED. As though I'm taking a HUGE risk even just GOING there. It was interesting though what the nurse told me about typhoid:

Nurse: "There is only a 0.04%!c(MISSING)hance that you will get typhoid."
Me: "So do I not really need it then?"
Nurse: "Well, if you do get it there is a 50%!c(MISSING)hance you will die."
Me: "I think I'll get the shot."

Also makes me wonder if people ever opt out of typhoid!

On a side note, I met up with Amy on Sunday to talk about our plans and to finalize some things since it was the last time I'd see her until the day before we leave (January 2, for those of you who don't know!). I booked our first few nights in Lima since our flight gets in at 11:30 p.m. . I got really ridiculously excited once I booked this place. It finally feels like I'm ACTUALLY going, kind of surreal really.

I've also squared away my packing list and (I think) talked my family into buying me all travel-related stuff for Christmas!

Also have worked it out and with my Christmas vacation time I only actually have about 6.5 days of work left before my trip (as I'm writing this).

Very excited.


Advertisement



10th December 2010

Getting ready...
Very excited for you sweetie...travelling away from home (a long way from home!) is one of the most awesome journeys one can take. I assume that you have sewed that Canadian flag, loud and proud, somewhere on your backpack? It'll be fun to follow along with you :) Kisses, Auntie
31st December 2010

Write (Blog) often!
Have a great time, Jode. You and Amy have teamed up to create an epic trip south. Be safe! Write often. Love you, Dad

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb