Vancouver in preparation for Tanzania


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's been a little over three weeks since I finished up at Ernst & Young and two weeks since I left the lovely isles of Bermuda (hopefully only temporarily, but still in search of the ever elusive job).

I flew into Vancouver on October 6 and stayed with my friend Katy for a few days. She just bought a house in North Van and a bed sure beats my brother's couch. I spent the next few days hiking the Grind (nasty little hike up Grouse Mountain - essentially stairs built up the mountain.) Vancouverites always talk about their time up the Grind. It is a BIG Deal. Mine was embarassing. Before I left Vancouver six years ago, I could do the Grind in about an hour. My three tries were 1:30, 1:32, and 1:29. Pretty slow. In fact, when I first did the Grind 8 or 9 years ago, I completed it in 1:30 - and that was after having a lunch of raw chocolate chip cookie dough and puking it up at the 1/2 way point. This is very worring for my Mt Kilimanjaro climb.

My evenings were consumed by meeting up with old friends, trying out both old and new restaurants and seeing a modern ballet performance. I really miss these aspects of Vancouver. The weather even co-operated with me and I had days of sun, although it was really chilly.

On Saturday (Oct 11), Katy and I went for a longer hike out to Garabaldi Lake (just past Squamish). It was a much gentler incline than the grind and much more beautiful. This was a 5 hour hike (in and out) and has given me much more confidence in my ability to complete Kilimanjaro.

The rest of the weekend was spent at my aunt's house with my family for Thanksgiving dinner and early in the week to my Uncle's place in Sechelt, where I tried improving my golf game a little (yes you can play golf in Vancouver almost year round - although I little cooler than in Bermuda).

I spent Oct 16 flying to the US. It was a lovely experience. I flew Vancouver to Toronto and then I was supposed to fly Toronto to Newark. One clears immigration for the US in Toronto - so I merrily picked up my bag and went to stand in the US immigration line. My passport goes swipe, and I get asked to accompany the immigration officer into the "back room". I have about 15 minutes until Im supposed to be boarding my next flight and they ensure me I will make it (foreshadowing music here). Apparently somebody on "the list" has either a name or a passport # similar to mine. (Im thinking that it is the passport # since I've had the same name for a number of years now and haven't had any problems). So a few checks and balances and he takes down my drivers liscence, etc, but can't promise me this won't happen again and I continue on. I jog my bag to the connecting flights drop and jog to my gate to find that my flight had been delayed (not surprising given I was flying into New York). So an hour later we all board and get in our seats only to find out that the flight has been cancelled - Newark Airport couldn't handle us, so flight cancelled. See the immigration officer knew I wouldn't miss my flight. We all get off the plane, go through Canadian immigration, collect our bags and try to sort out another flight into the US. I manage to get one for 4 hours later andI have to go through US immigration again. Lucky for me, the immigration gods were smiling and I got the same immigration officer that I had when I went through the first time and he remembered me and my situaiton - so things went a lot smoother.

I was in the US to attend my friend's wedding out in New Jersey. It was good fun - she looked stunning and I had the opportunity to re-connect with many of my friends from Australia. I also managed to get a little shoppinig in (one needs a dress to attend a wedding), go to a few wine bars, and see a musical - I love musicals!! We went to see Hairspray, which was loads of fun.

Im now in London - trying to get a Tanzanian visa and seeing some friends. I fly out Saturday.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

InnukshukInnukshuk
Innukshuk

Interestingly, this symbol of the Whistler Olympics comes from the Inuit of the Northwest Territories
Grizzly habitat atop Grouse MountiainGrizzly habitat atop Grouse Mountiain
Grizzly habitat atop Grouse Mountiain

It did rain 1 day when I was in Vancouver
Enjoying the wine bar in NYCEnjoying the wine bar in NYC
Enjoying the wine bar in NYC

Yes, im in travel clothes


23rd October 2008

Love it!
Hey Teresa, Great to hear about your journey so far. The airport story is quite funny, although I'm sure it was far from that at the time. We have some similar ones so I feel your pain. Safe travels on Saturday and look forward to hearing about the climb and the rest of your journey. Leah PS. my IT band feels bruised from using your foam roller! amazing
23rd October 2008

yikes!
Are those really grizzly bears on Grouse Mtn - I HOPE THEY ARE IN CAGES!!!
23rd October 2008

yes - they are in cages - grizzlies don't actually live that far south in BC (I think)
23rd October 2008

What about Ireland
Why no trip report from Ireland? If you can manage a trip report about being at home then shouldn't we get a report about Ireland. PS Every since you left its been cold, wet and windy again. The sunshine whilst you were here was a complete abberation.
23rd October 2008

Ireland was just about visiting friends - it wasnt really a trip - although i could have talked about how fantastic the weather in Ireland is (at least while Im there) and do your tourist board some good!
25th October 2008

Great to See you on the Trail Again
T, Great to see your back on the travel trail - although I must admit the Grind is only enjoyable once you get to the top. Really disappointed we were not in Cayman when you were last here! Keep us posted of your worldy travels - Cheers.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb