A city I did not see enough of....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
February 8th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a tiring journey, with heavy luggage (and an instance where I boarded the wrong plane), I made it to Vancouver. The impression I got of here from the prop plane was a good one. Smooth ocean and snow covered mountains. The bus ride through the city to the hotel was fun. I think I got to see most of downtown Vancouver while sitting in a warm bus.

The hostel I stayed in was really nice and clean. I had one roommate who was French and didn’t speak a lick of English. It is fun communicating……it was like playing charades. ^_^ The hostel is right around the corner from where I did my training. I worked in a tall, stately building surrounded by fountains and other tall buildings. The street around the corner with my hostel has 6 adult book stores, 4 pizza places, an arcade and various other trashy establishments. It was a really big contrast. Turn around the corner and you’re in another world.

The food is fabulous and very, very inexpensive. I’ve had sushi, Greek, Mexican, Persian and some great pizza there. The weather was great most of the time, but it lightly snowed and rained
VancouverVancouverVancouver

You can the the mountains in the background if you look really hard. =P
occasionally. I spent almost the entire day everyday working so I didn’t have had too much time to be a tourist and sightsee. Vancouver is a fairly clean city and I’ve enjoined what I’ve saw. However, it seems that most things that are recommended to do & see here are on the outskirts & I stayed downtown. The last night I did get to do some shopping and I checked out Robson St., which apparently is a famous shopping street in Vancouver.
This is definitely a city I need to return to someday as a tourist.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Countdown for the Winter OlympicsCountdown for the Winter Olympics
Countdown for the Winter Olympics

Vancouver is apparently really excited about hosting the olympics in a couple of years. They have this giant countdown plus tons of flyers and posters all over the city.


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb