Vancouver


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone

Just a quick note to let everyone know that we have arrived safely in Vancouver (yep, they let me through customs!!). First impressions of Vancouver are good; the city is very pretty with the mountains in the background (still with some snow) and the harbour. The city does seem surprising clean.

We spent Friday walking around down town doing the little compulsory odd jobs such as bank accounts, state insurance numbers (i.e. tax numbers) and cell phones. So the number for my phone is (778) 997 2932. To text from NZ you add 001 in front of the number. One strange thing about cell phones here is that you have to pay to receive calls as well as sending them - so please only text me!! We are still sorting out accommodation for after Wednesday.

Today we went for a walk around Stanley Park which was lovely. The highlight for me would have to be the cute little black squirrel (although I'm not sure Emily found it that cute!!) and the totem poles.

I hope you’re all having fun.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Cheerio
Cielle



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



13th May 2007

Good to hear you are okay.
13th May 2007

hello
hey great to hear from you. i'm sitting at home trying to write a press release in case the chorus wins the competition next weekend. boring! just sent you a txt and forgot to say who it was from - hope you recognise the number! Love Ronnie
13th May 2007

you have arrived
Seems like all the technology is working and so did the ticket to Seattle! So that is a few qualms put to rest. I hope you spent the american dollars on lunch in San Fransico. Stanley Park is lovely, I thought the totems were fabulous too. That is where I saw the raccoons roaming around. I had contemplated walking from there to Gastown but hesitated but I am sure you can do it but not so certain about how long it would take. If you enjoyed the totems you would probably enjoy the ones at the UBC museum too. But lots more to see. I suppose there is still a lot of snow around as it is only May. I also presume it is going to take a while to get the bank account and tax stuff organised. Lots on your mind but you are making rapid progress on all fronts. We had the usual sort of weekend out for dinner with the Kaisars and the Whitefords (Sue was sick) and a walk with Dan and Liz on Sunday. I went around for a walk around Oriental Bay and Roseneath on Saturday while your dad went running. Beautiful days here. It was specially lovely hearing from you. I guess that was the highlight of the weekend. We are off to Christchurch on Thursday to check out Andrea and the wedding plans. Till next time take care and enjoy yourself. love mum
15th May 2007

Ke Ora from Kiwi Land
I'm envious already. - Snow capped mountains, Beaches, Stanley Park-complete with its wildlife, and local culture.... What a great start to your journey. I'm glad to hear you are galantly protecting Emily from the squirrels. :) So good to hear from you and keep having fun Ka Kite Ano Catherine
17th May 2007

HI YAAAAA!!!!
Glad to hear you have arrived safely. Your job was advertised in the paper this week, everyone here keeps asking me if I am going to apply :-) Vancouver sounds like a fascinating place with lots to see. So good to hear from you Sara
21st May 2007

awww
awww cute squirrel...I'd like to see some more:-) I guess the next step is to find a hockey team to support...eh?
21st May 2007

Hey!
Hey Cielle! Good to hear you made it there! Vancouver is such a gorgeous city! The squirrels cracked me up as well - and the Americans and Canadians looked at me strange for taking photos of them. The squirrels are pretty well trained, and would run up to me with their hands out for food......so cute! Have fun and take care! :-)
5th June 2007

Hello from cyberpace
Good luck on your Adventures! The Aussie Stephens

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 21; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb