One of a kind travel experience: A short story from Toronto to Vancouver


Advertisement
Published: February 28th 2020
Edit Blog Post

“You are a fool!”my father said as a matter of fact while I packed my luggage.

On the other hand, my mother stood in the doorway looking concern and distraught at my decision to travel to Vancouver.



“Why don’t you think it through hon?” she sounded skeptical with hope but we both knew I had made up my mind.

“Ma, I need to do this” and with that as my final say I kissed her temple and memorized her warm hug and as for my father, I didn't spare a second glance scared that his glare would change my mind.



Sometimes in life, you have to make decisions that may be either good or bad, but that's not the concern…what matters most is the conviction of that decision. I have always been hesitant when it came to making decisions but when a friend of mine mentioned his travel expedition to some far off place, I thought why not?

Incredible journey across Canada



Day 1: Boarding train was the main idea, and I’m glad we made the stop at one of the busiest rail junction in Toronto. Leaving past the urban lifestyle I was ready and set for adventure. The cabin was well-assorted with a bunker, toilet set and enriched in colors (which I didn't care about) and oh yes a sink too. A cozy nighttime journey was about to begin.



Day 2: Waking up to a breathtaking view of Markham, was a pleasant change of scenery. By the time the train pulled at Sudbury junction, I could smell mining and lumber industries drooling with manual labor. Dining in Skyline Car felt as if you are not on the train, watching the world passing by in a transfixed stare.

Day 3: Having my Scottish tea for breakfast, my friend eagerly informed me about Jasper and its national park surrounded by the Canadian Rockies. In my opinion, the journey so far was intriguing but I was getting antsy with lack of any movement.

Day 4: Finally arriving at Vancouver I had to admit, the journey itself was filled with marvelous views. Traveling with an overnight bag was easy to carry and therefore we made it to the destination without any sour incident.



The next day we spent time in Stanley Park while biking the hours, we also saw the Seawall waterfront. The place just brims with the natural offering of parks and lush forests all around. Sometime later we visited the Gastown – a historic neighborhood, with warm welcoming residents running chic restaurants and cool shops.



While we waited for our meaty meal at Salt Tasting Room, I realized the one week journey ahead was going to be the best journey of my life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb