HELLO CANADA!!!


Advertisement
Published: August 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post


the backyard of Kyle´s dad townhouse
July 2



Flight DLC to Incheon to Vancouver





Finally the day has arrived, I am going to Canada with Kyle! After a busy day souveniers shopping for Kyle´s family at the Korean market in Dalian, a massage, a mani & pedi and a last Chinese dinner and getting soaked in the rain we were ready to go o Canada.







We woke up around 6 am, had a shower and the last cereal breakfast (nothing more on the fridge) and were ready to go. I took the Qing Guai (light rail) to Kaifaqu to get my suitcase and pack some extra stuff we had bought while Kyle finished packing his suitcase. He would take the school bus to the airport while I would take the light rail.







It was a rainy morning and it took me awhile to get a taxi to Qing Guai, finally I got one and it anted to stop to pick up other people, but I managed to say no and he went straight to the light rail. Good thing because I arrived just in time

pretty flowers
to get n and leave for Kaifaqu. I got to my place after half an hour, quickly packed the extra things in the suitcase, changed and was ready to go. Kyle was already on his way to the airport by the school bus. I managed to get a taxi to Jinma Lu light rail station and got in the train fairly quickly, even though I had to drag my suitcase up the stairs. The train was not so busy and I got a seat all the way to Jin Jia Jie, it is a station about 20 minutes away from the airport. Even though I left for the airport way after Kyle I got in first. We waited for awhile chatting and playing ipod games and soon Kyle´s flight was checking, I had to wait another hour to check in. (We went in different flights because Kyle´s school books with Japan airlines and I need a visa to go to Japan, so I booked mine through Seoul): I thought I would see Kyle in Canada, but since I was the first on line to check in I got a few extra minutes with Kyle before he left. His flight left

Vancouver streets andblue skies
around 1:30 and I was supposed to leave at 2:30, it ended leaving at 3:30 and I really thought I would missed my flight to Vancouver because I only had 45 minutes to transfer. Luckily the flight was quick 55 minutes and I managed to get a stewardess to go with me to transfer so I would not have to wait in line. I reached the gate a few minutes earlier, so I decided to get a drink and check emails with free Wi-Fi at the airport.



A little infor about Vancouver, BC.

The city was also named the Top Destination in Canada in TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice awards, and was chosen as the world's "Most Liveable City" in 2010 by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), a title it has been awarded eight times since 2002.



Vancouver offers travellers both outstanding opportunities for outdoor adventure and the sophisticated amenities of a world-class city. Take advantage of the city's oceanside location, with plenty of green space and many recreation opportunities in the mountains 20 minutes north of downtown. After a busy day, linger over a glass of BC wine and a locally inspired meal,

Having a cinnammon bun and fruit lemonade
or unwind at one of Vancouver's unique spas.



While this sea-level port city is known for its temperate climate, the surrounding snow-covered slopes are perfect for winter sports and breathtaking views of the city twinkling below. Vancouver is one of the few places in the world where it's possible to ski in the morning and sail in the afternoon.

Interested in learning more about BC before visiting? What to wear? What to expect? Where to go?

HelloBC.com has a wealth of information to help you get the most out of your vacation to our province. And it's yours to explore – welcome to Canada's west coast!



Be inspired by the view from the top of a mountain, or feel the warmth of a sun-baked desert. Allow the scent of centuries-old rainforest surround you, or just listen to the waves of the Pacific Ocean roll in. Reward your taste buds and experience world-class cuisine crafted by internationally celebrated chefs.



Our friendly, laid-back locals won’t just make you feel at home, they’ll also help you discover the vast richness that our province has to offer. Sip your way through award-winning wineries.

love this flowers in the compound gardens
Hike along epic coastline or mountain trails. Get up close and personal, and meet BC's wildlife as you go whale or bear watching. Learn about our rich history and storied Aboriginal culture. Or explore our vibrant cities, surrounded by towering mountain peaks and deep blue ocean waters. Whatever you do you’ll never feel far from our spectacular nature.

There’s no end to what you can explore when you come to BC. And as a four-season destination, there’s no time like the present to start your adventure. So pack your sense of adventure and start planning a trip of a lifetime today.
BC Fast Facts



LocationWesternmost of Canada's 10 provinces. Only province in Canada to experience a "West Coast special": ski and golf in the same dayPopulation4.5 million (concentrated in Vancouver, population 2.3 million, and Victoria, population 368,000). Canada's third most populated province (after Ontario and Quebec)Capital CityVictoria on Vancouver IslandHistoryEntered Canadian confederation in 1871Total Area944,735km sq/364,764mi sqHighest PointFairweather Mountain, 4,663m/15,299ftLowest PointPacific Ocean, sea levelLongest RiverFraser River, 1,368km/850miLargest LakeWilliston Lake (reservoir), 1,761km sq/680mi sqLargest IslandVancouver Island, 32,137km sq/12,408mi sqProvincial FlowerPacific
The RavineThe RavineThe Ravine

feeling like at the woods in the middle of the city
dogwoodProvincial TreeWestern redcedarProvincial BirdSteller's jayProvincial GemstoneJadeProvincial Motto"Splendour without diminishment"

The flight to Vancouver took off at around 6:30 PM. It was very smooth flight, but I was just recovering from being sick and I think this is why my ears were constantly clogged and in pain. I slept for the first part of the flight, but then could not sleep and watch movies instead. I got to Vancouver at 12:30 and went through immigration pretty easily got my suitcase and went out to meet Kyle and his dad for the first time. I was a bit nervous! I recognized Kyle from a distance and his dad, he looked just like him but older. We did the formal introductions and headed to his townhouse for the day. Even though we started our trip in Dalian on July 2nd at 2:30 P.M we got to Vancouver on the same day we left and actually earlier. It was July 2nd around 1 o´clock. Talk about traveling in time!







Kyle´s dad lives in Vancouver about 30 minutes from downtown and the airport. The ride was pretty fast. We got to his new
The RavineThe RavineThe Ravine

our little secret nature trail for evening walks
townhouse and settled down, had a shower, took a mini nap and around 5:30 we were ready to go to eat dinner at Kyle´s mom´s place. She lives a little closer to downtown in a smaller neighborhood and in a very thin and cozy townhouse. My first impression of his mom was a very fit and outdoorsy caring mother. We did the formal introductions and sat down drinking wine and beer chatting while dinner was ready. Dinner was lasagna and Caesar salad. Kyle´s favorite dishes. I can tell why Kyle is such a god cook. He takes after his mom. Dinner was delicious!!! Dessert was the best part a homemade strawberry tart oh my God was this delicious? YES!!!!







We finished dinner around 9 o clock and even though it was still pretty light we headed to bed and crashed for the night.







July 3rd.



Cycling around Vancouver





We woke up at the sound several times during the night due to jetlag and unadjusted to the time, but we managed to sleep pretty well. We woke up around 12 o ´clock. Had some good bagels for breakfast and headed out on the bikes. It was my first time biking in the city of Vancouver, so Kyle took me through some residential areas, not too hilly (I discovered later Vancouver is pretty hilly) to a shopping area not too far from Kyle´s dad. We went to a pharmacy and got some things for China and then to a camera store to get Kyle´s camera lens and headed back to the house to drop things and later go to a different location a little bit farther away to get some outdoor traveling gear.







Biking through the streets of Vancouver was so different than biking in Dalian. For starters there are bike lanes and paths for bikes, which for me makes a huge difference. Also there are pedestrian-bike streetlights and bikes and people are actually a priority when they come across a road crossing. Cars, taxis, buses stop and give pass to the bikes without making a big deal, honking or getting really close to your bike. We rode through a few residential streets and then through an old railroad track and then to a busier street all the way to Best buy and Mountain Co. Equipment. I have to admit that I am an anxious clumsy bike rider, but having Kyle in front of me and learning bike signals and knowing that the vehicle drivers were bike friendly made e feel so much better and I got my bike riding confidence boosted. We spent a few hours on these two stores and then went to get snack, a famous cinnamon roll and lime and strawberry lemonade. We headed back to the house around 7:30 PM.







One thing I really noticed since the first day was the beautiful and clear blue skies and yellow bright sun shining every day. What a beautiful sight. I could not stop admiring it! Every day I commented it to Kyle and his family how much I loved the blue sky in Vancouver. The birds singing in the morning and little insects and rodents around the city parks.







We ate soup for dinner a very light dinner and wen for a walk around the neighborhood which ended in a small park called the Ravine just a few meters from the house, but you felt in the middle of the woods because of the tall trees, and abundant vegetation. Lots of flowers, and ferns. We walked back to the house and on our way had a Slurpee.







We crashed for the night because the next day, I would be meeting Kyle´s sister Erin and his 7-year-old nephew Jonah and his 4-year-old niece Naysa.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb