No Place More Beautiful Than Vancouver When the Sun Is Shining...


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2021
Edit Blog Post

After sitting at home for nearly a year, I realized I could be working from nearly anywhere, given I was close to the same time zone as home. I had also been learning about digital nomads over the past year. The more I thought about doing something in-between, the more I liked the idea. Given my job, I couldn't be a full-time digital nomad. There are things in my career that still need to be face to face, but perhaps I could pull this off for a month a quarter, with the first week being a holiday and the next three being remote work. Given the lockdowns, I knew my first location would have to be in Canada, so why not Vancouver in the spring!?!

I knew Vancouver would be well ahead of Edmonton when it came to spring, so I was happily anticipating a world of sun, flowers, and green grass. That is precisely what I got upon arrival.

Getting everything for one month in a bike suitcase and a duffle bag was a challenge. I was maxed out both in weight and dimensions. A lot of that weight and space was bike-related, so I was a bit apprehensive about whether taking my bike would be worth it.

On top of seeing how the bike would work out, I was also interested in seeing how my TRX, portable standing desk, and HomePod Mini would replicate my home experience. They all worked out really well and made a big difference in making me feel at home.

The biking was enjoyable… Instead of taking the same beautiful but boring river valley walk at home during this pandemic, I ventured out and used Stanley Park and False Creek for my mid-day breaks. I also used the bike to explore the city and its farmers' markets. Vancouver is well suited for cycling, and it has a great bike network. I couldn't but notice all of the e-bikes and elderly cyclists in their 60s and 70s. This is much more evident than in Edmonton.

In my opinion, the Stanley Park Seawall is the most beautiful urban walk in the world. Whether I walk it, bike it, or blade it, I still find it breathtaking. The stunning backdrop and the ever-changing vistas make it truly unique. There is nothing that compares to walking along Vancouver's waterfront at sunset.

My Airbnb was situated in the Vancouver House, which was completed last summer. It has a unique design that standouts in Vancouver's skyline. My unit was small at 450 sq/ft, but manageable. Interesting, there was a huge balcony that was out of step with the size of the unit. We were centrally located and within walking distance to almost anything we wanted to do. For those sites that were too far, the Canada Line was only 900m away. I did enjoy walking down to False Creek for my afternoon breaks as it was a block away.

I spent the first week as a tourist, which was mostly spent exploring Vancouver's different neighbourhoods. I had never spent any time on Main Street, but I found it the most appealing neighbourhood for what I was looking for. It has a nice mix of independent shops, ethnic restaurants, and small grocery stores. Connecting it to the Olympic Village and corresponding train station should make it part of everyone's Vancouver trip. While I didn't buy much, it was great to stroll and graze along the street. I have taken to grazing small treats vs a big lunch while I travel. It draws out the day and food intake better.

Given the pandemic and partial lockdown, I wasn't sure what the dining experience would be like, so I didn't make any reservations. Yaletown ended up being my go-to place for dinner. Its quiet streets and large patios made it an excellent place for dinner. I felt sorry for so many other restaurants, which were forced to set up temporary tables on busy roads...After being stuck in my condo for over a year, it was sure nice to be somewhere different. As I have always said, there is nowhere nicer than Vancouver when the sun is shining.

The entire experience of returning to Edmonton was easier. Packing was smoother, and I was better able to pull my luggage this time. I was unpacked in no time and organized for my next remote stint in Quebec City this summer. This now gives me an idea of what it would be like to travel the world one month at a time with a bike. It is a seductive lifestyle that includes all my travel loves of cities, cycling, and slow travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb