The Pacific coast


Advertisement
Published: November 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I have always thought about going to visit one of the most beautiful part of Canada like Vancouver Island.



I came in BC for business as well and this gave me plenty of time to admire, discover and be awestruck by this fantastic province and its nature.



After a few weeks spent in Pitt Meadows working on a farm, which is 48 km eastward Vancouver downtown, I decided to head to Vancouver Island for some exploration.



I landed in Victoria which is the main hub on the island and also a very unattractive place: just a modern city so I stayed as little time as possible there.



I quickly rented a car and left the city to deepen inside the nature.



It is so incredible that in a few minutes you are just in the middle of nowhere with only one sign of development which is the road in the middle of the forest that make space for you to procede forward.



after a long drive I reached a beautiful N.P. called Juan de Fuca N.P.



I had also the opportunity to pitch a tent and decided to stop there.



It is truly what I always look for in a place: quietness everywhere with basically no sign of civilization, fantastic.



It was near sunset and those colours of red, yellow and blue were like living in a dream place where there is no: Modernization, Globalazation, Capitalism and those activities that deteriorate the mentality of the people where the only interest seems to be "Money".



I encountered a local person living on the island: a British background Canadian that I had a pleasure to meet.



This guy named Robert retold me a bit of facts about the island.



Starting from the size and geography of the area: 460 km long and about 100 wide.



It is also the largest island on the West Coast of North America.



He also explained me that people here grow subtropical mediterranean crops as: Olives and Lemons.



A population of about 800,000 people with most of them living inside Victoria.



This island has been the homeland to the aboriginal people for thousands of years.



In the 18th century was explored by the British naval captain George Vancouver.



While talking we had a walk on the gravel beach and not far away from us there was a black bear that as soon as spotted us run away into the forest.



It is a pleasure for me to see that in certain part of the world the wildlife is still protected and there is great attention to the ambient.



We walked also in the interior through the deciduous trees of Douglas fir: a coniferous tree growing in the drier forests near the sea.



It is really fascinating to admire how certain parts of the world are still untouched.



Dark quicly came and soon we headed back to the camp.



For the night we had some barbecue and to warp up ouselves as well.



While eating we talked about our past travel and life experiences in foreign countries which is the main topic when travelling and I consider it a genuine and true way of meet up with people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement


















13th November 2016

Those colours!
I can totally see what drew you to this area...I like your description of 'dream place' :)
13th November 2016

Hey many thanks, it is magical.. travel is passion and sunset is my favourite natural wonder..
13th November 2016

Hey many thanks, it is magical.. travel is passion and sunset is my favourite natural wonder..

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb