British Columbia took my breath away!


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

PortPortPort

This is the port for Victoria where we got off from the ferry.
I went to go see my sister over the 4th of July weekend in 2005. I hadn't seen Sis and her family in 4 years. Before I got to Seattle, I asked her if she would mind if my nephew, Will would be able to come to Victoria with me for an overnight trip. I figured he would be happy to see a change in scenery and it would give us the chance to catch up over the years that we've missed. Both were delighted at the opportunity and I was happy to play tour guide.

Will and I left Seattle early in the morning via the Victoria Clipper. The ferry ride is about a 3 hour ride, so it provided Will and I the chance to talk and snack on some goodies that the ferry provides.
I had heard how beautiful Victoria was and my friends told me that if I get the chance, to stay at the Fairmont Empress Hotel. I made plans for Will and I to see Butchart Gardens and tour the Butterfly Garden. After that, we were game for anything that we encountered. One thing I didn't count on is that we would be in
Streets of VictoriaStreets of VictoriaStreets of Victoria

I couldn't believe how beautiful the hanging baskets were on the streets of Victoria!
Victoria on Canada Day, and that made it even more fun!

We began the early afternoon touring the Butterfly Gardens, I had never seen so many beautiful butterflies in my life. There is at least 35 different species of butterflies there! I had a couple of them land on my shoulders, no, not all 2400 of them! It was amazing to see the butterfly in the stages of development. The abundance of plants and tropical birds made the gardens even that more special.

The drive to Butchart Gardens was awesome, I enjoy that part of the country and can even envision myself retiring in that part of the country. It is truly beautiful! Little did I know that Butchart Gardens would leave me in awe as to how gardening could be!

Butchart Gardens is a 130 acre spread. At one time it was a limestone quarry. Sometime around 1904 Mrs. Butchart wanted to do something with this terrible pit that was pretty used up, therefore she brought in top soil, plants, and flowers. Today, there is over 1,000,000 bedding plants. Different flowers are used for the different seasons. The gardens are divided into: Sunken Garden, Rose Garden,
Our home for the nightOur home for the nightOur home for the night

We stayed at the Fairmont Empress Hotel. We in awe of the luxury, including the robes!
Japanese Garden, and the Italian Garden. I can't say that I had a "favorite", I loved each of them!

I found out that they served an afternoon tea, and I have never had that experience. I thought an afternoon tea at Butchart Gardens would be a nice way to end the day, I wasn't sure how Will would feel about going to a "tea" but he throughly enjoyed it as much as I did.

After the gardens, we went back to our hotel, Fairmont Empress to rest up a bit, as we had done some serious walking. The hotel was divine luxury in every which way. One of the reasons I picked it (besides its history and beauty) was that it is walking distance to the harbor. The hotel was opened in 1908 and was named for Queen Victoria, Empress of India. I enjoyed the tapestries in our room and sleeping on luxury linens were a great way to sleep the night away.

Early evening, we walked around the shops and one of my favorite shops was a Christmas Shop. I did more than "ooooh and ahhhh" over the ornaments! Will and I saw a band playing
Butterfly GardensButterfly GardensButterfly Gardens

It is really hard to leave! I was hoping to capture a picture of a Blue Morpho but they aren't still long enough for a digital camera.
on the sidewalk, there were more activities than usual since it was Canada Day. Will thought the Canadian women were hot!

Will and I ended our evening with fireworks, which were right outside of our hotel!

The next day we walked through Thunderbird Park, Miniature Museum, and the Royal Museum. These museums are a "must" to go see. The displays at the Miniature Museum involved so much hand work, I could tell there was a lot of labor of love put into those exhibits.

We caught the afternoon ferry back to Seattle. I'd love to go back there for a longer stay!





Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Postman ButterflyPostman Butterfly
Postman Butterfly

I don't know why kind of mail it brings.
Giant Owl ButterflyGiant Owl Butterfly
Giant Owl Butterfly

I didn't know which "eye" was looking at me.
Julia ButterflyJulia Butterfly
Julia Butterfly

Caught on camera, raiding the till.
ButterflyButterfly
Butterfly

You can't get away with it!
Giant SwallowtailGiant Swallowtail
Giant Swallowtail

Butterflies are a bit of a challenge to photograph, they don't stay still for long.
NurseryNursery
Nursery

The different stages of butterflies.
Angel TrumpetAngel Trumpet
Angel Trumpet

This plant is rather intriguing.
Vanda Tokyo BlueVanda Tokyo Blue
Vanda Tokyo Blue

This flower is beautiful. Imagine if a rose in this color could be grown!
OrchardOrchard
Orchard

Butterflies were attracted to this orchard.
Violet Plantain EaterViolet Plantain Eater
Violet Plantain Eater

There were two of these birds there. They can be found in West Africa.
Caribbean FlamingoCaribbean Flamingo
Caribbean Flamingo

No- I don't have any of these in my yard. These are the prettiest of the Flamingos I've ever seen!
Flower ChildFlower Child
Flower Child

Will at the entrance to Butchart Gardens. Little did he know what he was in for!
Sunken GardenSunken Garden
Sunken Garden

Our descent into the main garden.
Poster childrenPoster children
Poster children

Will and I are flower children.
Bog gardenBog garden
Bog garden

Flowers in the midst of stone was pretty, almost like an artist took their paintbrush to the hardscape.
Yellow petalsYellow petals
Yellow petals

There were so many flowers throughout the gardens, I couldn't even begin to identify them.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb