July 12, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 42. Sunday.
I woke up when I heard Bob arrive from Church. He invited me last night but I just asked him to say Hi for me. Apparently Bob's been paying attention to my every comment since this morning he cooked bacon, had fresh raspberries and even noticed I ordered cranberry juice at lunch yesterday. Brunch at the riverview was great. In fact the sun was a bit much after a while.
After nap time we headed off to Campbell River. Bob let me drive his new Hybrid Toyota. I'm impressed at how seamless it goes from battery to engine power. If not for the display you would never know because the engine is so quiet you can't hear it running. Campbell River has a museum highlighting the Indian heritage of the area and then the lumber industry. At the end of the tour there is a small theater and one of the films was on the removal of two underwater hills in the narrowest part of Discovery Passage just North of here. Many ships were lost because of these submerged obstacles. A mining company dug a hole from the mainland 500 feet below the surface and branched out to
tree slicetree slicetree slice

the sign says approx 1034 years old
each hill where they came up inside the hills and spread out in all directions. They packed in over 2 million pounds of explosives and literally blew the tops off each hill underwater. It was the largest intentional non nuclear explosion ever.
Bob announced he was going to make lamb for dinner unless I had another idea. I explained to him that I had only had lamb once before and it was'nt good but by my description he concluded I had not had a good first impression so I said "show me how it should be". Well by Bob's own admission it was undercooked so I still don't have a high opinion of lamb. The corn on the cob was good though and I almost finished off the chinese leftovers. We ate inside for the first time since the riverview was a tad blustery.
After clearing the dishes we took Tika for her evening stroll through the woods to the river for a drink. During dinner Bob brought up the Buena Vista Social Club for some reason and I said I had a DVD in the trailer about a lady who travels to Cuba to play with locals. He said
early chain sawsearly chain sawsearly chain saws

double handled at the operator end and a single handle on the other. The first chain saws were Stihl from Germany.
he would be interested in seeing it so after we got back I got it from the trailer so we could watch it. That brings me to the point where I say good night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

local salmon specieslocal salmon species
local salmon species

Sockeye Pink Chum Coho Chinook


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb