July 11, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 41. Saturday.
I slept in till around 11.00 today. I felt tired all day yesterday for some reason so I'm not surprised. If Bob had not come home I probably would have slept longer. Once up and the three S's completed we left for London Drugs and some lunch. I had seen several White Spot restaurants in my travels so I suggested it and Bob reluctantly gave in. Not really. He said the food was fair as were the prices. A descent hamburger and some fresh made fries were my choice today.
After lunch Bob showed me Lake Comox which is fed from the glaciers. This is the lake that empties into the Puntledge river that runs behind the house after BC Hydro is finished with it. There is a 30 MegaWatt generating station that was originally built to supply power to the coal mines in the area. The water coming out of the mountains has already slowed to below normal levels so BC Hydro is only running the generating station at 8-10MW to conserve water. Their spokesman said if it continues to be a dry summer in the area they may have to shut it down entirely to conserve the water for the surrounding communities that rely on it.
We returned to the house and while Bob headed for his afternoon nap I took the bike back down the coastal route to Qualicum Bay. There are several oyster companies along the shore here. They all have huge piles of shells outside so the must shell them on site. It was time to turn back so as not to be late for dinner. I rode back to the city and got gas before returning to the house. Bob was just leaving to pick up Chinese so my timing was perfect. After dinner I did a load of laundry and watched the sun set through the trees.
I wonder how the other half live? ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb