A sad end to the day


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Revelstoke
July 21st 2021
Published: July 22nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 20.

The ash seems to have stoped falling but the smoke may be worse due to the fire in Sicamous. I caught my first whiff as I exited the trailer to make my pancakes, well actually it turned into one large pancake but that’s irrelevant. I buy the “just add water” pancake mix and use eggs for my liquid to get some protein. Let’s be honest, pancakes are just to hold the syrup. That’s what we really want. Being diabetic I’ve discovered all sorts of “no sugar added” or “sugar free” things including pancake syrup. Most of these things contain sugar alcohols which are derived from sugar but the human body doesn’t absorb them like processed sugar.

When I passed by Sicamous this morning I saw three water bombers in the air fighting the local fire. It’s right beside a lake so they don’t have far to go to scoop it up. I don’t know a thing about planes but one was a good size with four props. Another camper told me they are having an issue with boats out on the water though despite being warned to stay off the lake to allow unobstructed use by the planes.

I liked my ride yesterday up through Silver Creek so much I decided to do that road again but I took a slightly different route South through Deep Creek to get there. When I got back up to Salmon Arm I did a little shopping. I had previously removed my chaps and heavy sweater from my saddlebags but I do have a one gallon gas can in one as well as a few smaller items. I managed to squeeze in 12 cans of pop, moccasins, a set of sheets, a box of Kleenex and 12 hot dog buns by removing most of the packaging. I stopped in Sicamous on the way back for a picture and another onlooker who lives in the area said there were now six water bombers working this fire which has grown to 400 hectares or 1730 acres.

Back at camp I logged onto Facebook to upload my daily photos and see what’s happening when I see a notice that one of the bartenders where I used to go to watch bands most weekends killed herself. A beautiful girl in her mid twenties. I understand depression, the sadness, hopelessness, desperation, I’ve dealt with it for over twenty years but it’s still saddens me that she’s gone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Star-LynnStar-Lynn
Star-Lynn

Gone but not forgotten


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb