Camped in Prince Rupert


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Our resting placeOur resting placeOur resting place

When we drove in last night and saw this bog right beside our site, we thought we might be eaten alive, but so far we haven't seen any mosquitos.
We have enjoyed poking around Prince Rupert today. It’s a town of about 15,000, reminds both of us of small towns we have lived in. We were able to find a shoe repair place very quickly, and get my broken belly bag repaired. We were also able, finally, to replace that fresh crab dinner we had been looking forward to in Ucluelet - a nice seafood place in Cow Bay had half crab dinners for $13.95. Also had excellent chowder there! We’re catching up with our email at a nice little internet café called Java Dot Cup, and they charge only $3.50 an hour, the cheapest we’ve found so far. After posting this, we’ll head out for more exploration, and hopefully make it an early night tonight in preparation for another voyage tomorrow. It takes about 5-6 hours to get to the Queen Charlottes, if memory serves, and much of this will be on open ocean, so I’m looking forward to that.

Advertisement



10th July 2005

Last Communication from Charity
Hi Roberta and Kath; Charity is about to be disassembled and packed away for the great move. She may not resurface until after I return from my trip to Colorado on June 22. I am exhausted but the house is mostly packed. I have had marathon efforts from friends. Quite unexpectedly my good friend Margaret's husband has given me two full days of help. I knew he was coming out from Ontario to visit his Mum, Step Dad, and brother who is visiting from Dubai. I never dreamed he would pitch in and help literally the day after he arrived. Martin was here for a the afternoon yesterday as well. My friend Jackie came and packed for two days solid and other friends have given me an hour here, two hours there and some evenings as well. Today it came down to simply throwing stuff into boxes without a whole lot of sorting. I'll have to sort on the other end. I've put a whole lot of stuff out on the boulevard for free and have been amazed at how things have disappeared. Talked to Robin for a wee bit today. Haven't heard from her in a few weeks. Unfortunately I was pretty busy and so she is going to try to phone again tomorrow. Well I must go and try to clear off my desk and try to find my bed. This will be my last night sleeping in the house. This journey draws to a close. I continue to enjoy hearing about yours. Have a Happy Birthday Kath and wish Becca one as well. Cheerio for now, Orleen

Tot: 0.534s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.4945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb