Shaving Kit Not Included, The 2015 Cross Canada Experience (Parts 9 / 10 )


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kamloops
July 9th 2015
Published: July 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

9 days, 4900km, 0 injuries, and we're not even done yet! Only tomorrow left on the road and then it's home in Vancouver! I have to say, it has been an incredible trip and privilege to be able to do something like this. And even more entertaining is the thought that we'll be coming back through the US of A. Only something a gang of crazies would do? Well...



It's a good thing we're absolutely bonkers.



Today's wake-up came not from the usual rustling of my tent, but rather by the roaring engines of passing campers and Chevy trucks. It wasn't really what I'd call a rude awakening, since by then I was pretty much just lazing on my mat, but damn those things can be loud. Sorry you need to compensate there buddy! Anywho, we packed up and leisurely made our way back into Banff for breakfast. I was keen on getting my revenge from the previous day's error, and we marched right into another cafe. But this time, it actually was a real cafe! Oh how happy my stomach, as well as my taste buds, were to have real food for breakfast!



Life tip #005: NEVER SKIP BREAKFAST FOR FALSE FOOD.



Those are my wise words of wisdom I impart on you all. Also, we found out that morning from our neighboring camper that we had payed exactly 4x times the amount we were supposed to for our site. It seems miss nature from yesterday really wasn't the most attentive person. Luckily, we got good guy Ranger Chad to help us out and got our money back. I'd also like to thank Parks Canada for keeping their washrooms and showers clean (for real!), and the local squirrels for providing the arrival chirps and squeaks as I passed the showers. What the heck is up with them? Did Noyed inform them of my existence, and now suddenly I'm on every squirrel's list as Public Enemy #1? Bah, I'll stay happy knowing I can outlive him without trying. (Didn't bother naming each individual rodent, so I gave them all the group name of Noes, as in "No one's got time for your BS")

Having finished up in the campsite, we moved out and took off on Highway 1 West. Much to my surprise, it basically took us alongside Jasper/Banff park and through the Rockies in parts no yet ventured by my bloodline. I didn't nab any good photos, but if you saw the ones from yesterday, you can pretty much guess how it looked on your own. We probably wont be leaving the mountainous terrain until we actually reach Vancouver, so that'll be nice.

We stopped for lunch at the town of Rivelstoke, BC. It appears that, starting in Petawawa - Ontario, the more West you go, the richer things get (and the more places lack in Wi-Fi). Quite literally we started our journey in some really poor areas, and now it seems every town is a slightly more prospering and larger version of Kemptville. How interesting, though this doesn't excuse them of common courtesies! We're getting closer to Whistler, and I better not see any attitude changes from here on in!



Timestamp: 12:45 local time. Temperature: 33 degrees whatever... Real temperature: 1'000'000'000 degrees hell.



Apparently when it's above 20 for me, I might as well be rolling in a live magma pool. If it weren't for the jeep's air conditioning, I'd probably be melting (or damn near it anyways). And what does the weight-watcher's manual say about x-million degree conditions?




YOU GET A MILKSHAKE.



So we stopped at Tim's and got some refreshments. (I take back any bad things I've said about you Mr.Horton; you're a lifesaver indeed.) And finally, after hauling ourselves over the horizon a couple more times, we pulled into Kamploos RV park & Campsite are have set up for the night. Tomorrow is it; the last big push to Vancouver! I'm looking forwards to it, and will certainly keep y'all informed of the day's events, as well as when the Back to Canada Marathon will commence!


Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb