point of departure


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

west coastwest coastwest coast

view of Coast Mountain Range, Mount Doogie Dowler and Cortes Island from Quadra Island
Hello everyone,
I am getting ready for my trip back to Iqaluit for the summer. I will be leaving Quadra on June 19th and overnighting in Vancouver before I take a flight to Ottawa, Ontario where I will also stay overnight before I head up to Iqaluit on a 3 1/2 hours flight. I am so busy right now, trying to get everything organized for the housesitter and arranging for a gardener to come in and make sure the yard doesn't look like a hay field when we get back home in September. I have decided to leave our dog, Jake in the capable hands of our housesitter. I will be arriving in Iqaluit on Father's Day so am happy that Michael will not be spending this special day alone. Michael left for Iqaluit two weeks ago tomorrow and has already been working way too hard and putting in too many long hours so I guess I will have to try and create a balance when I get there! wish me luck! LOL. It will be very hard to leave the fabulous weather we have been getting here since Michael left, maybe it will rain before I leave and that way it won't be so hard to get on the plane for cooler or should I say colder places? Actually I am not complaining because although the temperatures are a lot cooler the air is so much dryer up north so that kinda compensates for it. I am so excited to be able to see old friends and places back in Iqaluit. I know it will be so much different than when we left because it is now, Nunavut, and the population has doubled and to say nothing of all the changes of government, most of them being based in Iqaluit rather than Yellowknife. It will be strange going back and not working too. I am looking forward to spending some time out on the land (short walks/hikes) and hopefully getting some good pictures of the flora and if I am really lucky some fauna too! I am taking a lot of quilt projects up with me and I am also taking an online computer course while I am up there so that should keep me out of trouble and pretty busy eh? Well I best get busy with more organizing and packing. Talk to you all soon okay! Cheers Marjorie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb