Radium Hot Springs


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Cranbrook
July 12th 2021
Published: July 13th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 11.

I never actually checked to see if there are in fact hot springs in the city of Radium Hot Springs. I’m bad with sight seeing and tourist destinations. I’m bad at stopping to look at anything which is ridiculous because I have nowhere to be.

It was a late start today. I was up much too late last night and once I finally finished breakfast and got mobile I spotted a coupe in the park with a Yamaha FZ-09 which is the previous version of the Tracer 9 GT which currently has my interest so I had to stop and see what his impressions were. Turns out he was a chatty Patty telling me every modification he had done as well as his and his fathers previous bikes. Eleven o’clock and off I go. My intended destination was Golden, BC but by the time I got to Radium Hot Springs I was actually getting a little bored. Although the scenery was nice enough the road was quite flat and straight following the valley floor. Straight and flat I can do at home. The Adirondack Mountains are actually better riding because there are roads that zig zag over the hills whereas here the mountains are just too tall.

While stopped for gas and a drink I had a short chat with a guy on his way back to Calgary who claimed the road on the other side of Kootenay Lake (remember the ferry?) was probably the best riding around this area. I’m still not sure I want to commit to that ride. It’s seven hours minimum seat time plus the 35 minute crossing with loading and unloading time, gas, drink and pee stops…

Anyway, the mountains were hazy again today but did seem to be a bit better clearer on the return trip. Maybe some haze burns off or maybe the sun is at a better angle. On the return trip I diverted off Hwy 93/95 onto 95A and came back through Kimberly and Wycliffe which turned out to be the best part of the ride. Again I rode into town for gas and a few groceries on my way back to camp and was settled by 4:30 which was nice. A steak, salad and garlic bread was dinner and I’m writing this before dark!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb