MC troubles before I leave


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Abbotsford
December 13th 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I guess its best it happens now rather than later. Apparently the water pump shaft seal is a weak point on the F650Gs model...just happened to notice a drop of coolant at the bottom of the engine and sure enough the coolant reservoir was empty. So I have the left side of the engine apart to repair the worn seals.

This job is not an easy one due to an oil return pipe that tests your patience and ingenuity. I thought that my downloaded shop manual was fairly complete, but now I realize different since it just seems to leave me in mid-stream trying to figure what procedure comes next...just when I need the information most.

Most other preparatory items are coming along pretty well. My travel partner, Wayne, has been doing a wonderful job in finding accomodations for us as we head down the US Pacific coast in January 2011. Apparently we have been the recipients of many generous hospitality offers all the way to the Mexican border. We figure that there will be 5 overnighters on our way to the Mex border - Olympia,WA, Coos Bay,OR, Sea Ranch or Bodega Bay, CA (not sure which), Grover Beach,CA, San Diego,CA...then Mexico and Baja!! We are keeping to the coast in Southern Oregon and Northern California to avoid the mountain passes.

Wayne and I have our fingers crossed for the weather..snow,ice, and MC's don't mix!!

Advertisement



22nd December 2010

MC Troubles
Hey KC Beamer So glad to hear that you are into your adventure ride. I am curious about your plans: are you going to be able to blog enroute? Have you registered with any forums to pass along your pictures and adventures, and let some of us armchair riders share the ride? Having a riding partner is a good idea. This blog is a great idea for journalling your route and passing it on to friends and family, and I am sure you have thought of a method of documenting your photos and videos. I found that I ended up with a great set of photos from last summers' ride, but not any clear sense of where they were taken. Great idea to be finding places to stay before your ride begins, at least until you get out of the great wet north, although California is getting its share too. I know that it adds to your lists, but have you considered adding your posts to DSBC and/or ADV forums? Lots of riders and friends would love to follow your adventure and be there if you need help. Thanks for the early Christmas present and it goes without saying: Vaya con Dios..
22nd December 2010

Thanks for including me
Sorry for the MC problems, tho two good things. 1. you have time re resignation 2. As you stated far better happening at home. Daryl
25th December 2010

blog reply
Good to hear your comments Dave. I will be continuing on with my travel blog once I get going and they will be automatically forwarded to you through this site. My travel partner Wayne Maurice was at the HU event last summer with an 1800 blue Goldwing. I had chatted with him but it really was a fluke when we found that our travel plans matched very well. Keep in touch..best of the season to you.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb