July 17, 2009


Advertisement
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: ascending 176 secs
2: ascending2 343 secs
Day 47. 13,264Km
I woke up to tent poles clanging. There was a group of teenagers here camped in about a dozen large tents. Easily 100 kids and this morning they were taking down all the tents and it sounded like they threw all the poles in one pile. One of the other tailgate party campers hooked up and left just before I did. I had picked out a few possible campgrounds knowing it was going to be tough being a Friday night.
I left Whistler headed for 70 Mile House and once I reached Lillooet I called the campground. The lady said she could do one night and she would see what she could do for a second. Somewhere along the route I encountered a climb like I had not seen up to this point. I think it was around Pemberton. I had to pull over and cool the truck down four times in 13Km because the gauge was pinned at 110 degrees. Lillooet is my dream town. Huge mountains all around and a river rushing through the valley. I could retire here. Best of all it's in the BC desert so they probably don't get much snow. Bob says it rarely freezes on the Island where he is but the mountains are'nt as big as I like. I stopped for fuel in Clinton not knowing how big some of these towns are. The GPS would'nt allow me to select the street name of the campground so when I got to 70 Mile House I had to call the campground again and get directions. I had passed the proper exit so she gave me other directions. It was a roundabout way of getting here but I found it. Suddenly I was amongst a grove of poplar trees. Just poplar trees. Everywhere, poplar trees. This is the first area in the West I have seen that is not almost all evergreens. It seemed odd at first. When checking in the lady said I could stay two night so I'm going to rather than try to find something on a Saturday. Sunday should be a bit easier since most weekend campers will be gone.
I met a couple from California parked two sites over after I went to see their black Lab. He is just over a year old as is the calmest young Lab I have ever met. After we both got settled I went back for a chit chat and got to listen to them talk about how expensive fuel and beer is in Canada. I just laughed to keep from crying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

mineralsminerals
minerals

suddenly the ground changed colour
Tall Timbers CampgroundTall Timbers Campground
Tall Timbers Campground

just outside 70 Mile House


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb