Back in time for C.O.P. fireworks


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
July 8th 2012
Published: July 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Made it back home this evening. It was a fun long hot day, except I realized another great thing about Alaska. Beautiful scenery everywhere without all the lousy crowds and traffic!! Upon getting closer to our beautiful Jasper, it was just soooo busy and frustrating that whole way back home. Slow going people on there brakes non stop, and too many of them! Lol. No wonder so much wildlife in Alaska, it's so nice and peaceful, and massively untouched.

It was great to wake up to sunshine and pure blue sky. Our cabin was real hot all night long. I was tempted to get up and take advantage of that nice swimming pool again before we left. Instead I fed the horses the last of the carrots we had for them. They were back in their stalls outside our back door. I easily could have hung around the ranch for another day.

The last 2 days in BC we saw a couple more bears, another big moose, and some cariboo. I also saw 2 little dogs hanging on the edge of the highway which left me feeling worried about them.

It was another nice ride back, without much stopping as now that we were headed home we were both anxious to just get back safe and sound with our bikes still running as great as they did. Luckily we had no major problems on the road. 503.9 miles in today, and our grand total for the trip was 4283.2 miles, or just under 6500 kms I do believe.

It was absolutely fantastic and then some! I would not hesitate to return again, but next time I would stay longer. With the ferry only departing once a week, we really ended up revolving our schedule around that. I was glad that we did experience the marine highway as well.

As I lay in my own bed here, (which feels real nice), I can't help but feel really lucky and thankful!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



9th July 2012

WELCOME HOME !!!
I loved living vicariously through you these past 14 days. Thanks for taking the time when you could to keep up all updated. It was awesome. Can't wait to talk to you !!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb