July 21, 2009


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta
July 21st 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 51. 14,094Km
Tis a sad sad day when one has to say farewell to the mountains.
For some reason I was antsy in the night again. I got back to sleep around six and I thought I saw nine on the clock but when I actually got up it was just after 10. Being a travel day I would have started a bit earlier but who cares if I did'nt get as far as I had planned. By the time I was locked and loaded it was after 11 and then I had to go into town for fuel. The next fuel stop was 150Km down the road and not knowing how hilly it might be I wanted more than the just under half tank I was sitting with.
Seeing the icefields is something. I'm not exactly what, but it's something. You can see the people in the distance making the trek so they can say "I walked on the ice!". I walk on ice every winter and I'm not happy about it. The mountains are amazing in this area though. Very sharp.
Heading East on Hwy 11 out of the Park I encountered a large blue lake. Blue cold glacier water. Very pretty.
Once I reached Rocky Mountain House I stopped for fuel and groceries before continuing on to the campground at Sundre. When driving out of Rocky Mountain House the ground got a lot flatter and the roads got straight. Very straight.
I picked this particular campground out of the book because it advertised wireless internet. Unfortunately their system took a power surge and was down. They tried connecting me to their router but it would not give me a valid IP address. Their laundry facilities were clean and nice so I took advantage of them instead.
After returning my friends phone call, which I completely forgot while I was trying to get internet access and doing laundry, I had a much needed shower and then rode into town so see about something to eat. It's light here so late I forgot to look at the clock and by the time I got to a pub the kitchen was closed as was the next one. One bar wench (that's for Gail) suggested the chinese place but alas they too were closed. The SubWay was open but cheese and crackers back at the trailer was more appealing so here I am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb