July 23, 2009


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lethbridge
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Chris ColepaughChris ColepaughChris Colepaugh

and the cosmic crew
Day 53. Thursday.
It was a rainy day when me auf brother Raule...
I miss those commercials. I have no idea where that came from.
I got up around 0930hrs due to nature screaming. I had looked up an oil change place the day I arrived so I already knew where I was going, problem is the GPS map is too old and there is no street listing where I was headed so I entered in the street name and the highest number it showed. As the GPS was taking me right past the street I needed to turn at I spotted the place and made a quick U-turn. Now the guy may know exactly what he is talking about but right away he starts in "you should run synthetic because...", and then the fuel pressure gauge because I have a performance module, you have the wrong drain plug in the oil pan, I'm trying to decide it that transmission fluid will get you home... blah blah blah.
Next stop was NAPA to see if they knew why there is a hole in the end of the new air filter I got in BC. Another confused clerk so I asked if they knew of a plumbing place where I could get the hole tapped for a half in pipe plug. "We probably have a half in pipe tap" said the older and wiser clerk. If you can do it here then you won't have to buy the tap. A wrench off the wall and the young clerks help holding the filter and I was away with a $2.50 brass pipe plug. WooHoo.
After installing the filter back at camp I continued cleaning the front of the trailer with the bug and tar remover I got at Canadian Tire yesterday. It's one of their natural products and although I have nothing to compare it to it does seem to work pretty good. Once the sun was really beating down on me I moved under the awning and cleaned the bike. There is an air show here this weekend so while I was cleaning some jets were practicing overhead. I could'nt see too much because of the trees but I did catch a glimpse here and there. Once she was all shined up it was time for a ride. Being on the high side of 30 degrees I did something I've never done before. I went for a ride with no jacket. The temperature was just perfect. I stopped at a Kawi dealer because they had a used Victory Vegas Jackpot outside. I like them but the paint on this one did nothing for me. Continuing on I spotted a Princess Auto store. I like them too. One of the bungie cords on my solo rack is shot so I stopped in and treated myself to a new pair.
During my travels today I took note of a Chinese buffet. No relation to Jimmy. Since I had my hotdogs for lunch I negotiated with myself that I could have dinner out again. It was crap. During my pub search the other night I found a place with live music so that's where I headed next. I should have just gone there to eat too. On the venue tonight was Chris Colepaugh and The Cosmic Crew all the way from Moncton New Brunswick. Hay, I was there.
The listing on the web said they would go on at 2100hrs. I got there about 20 minutes before and was greeted by the one waitress/bar tender and the cook who were sitting in the doorway. The band was sitting at a table eating and there was one other known local inside. The girl followed me in and got me a Pepsi. $1.50 for a bottomless glass. She said the band would go on about 2200hrs. Around 2130hrs the band did a sound check and then I started talking to Chris for a bit. Eventually he went and sat back with the other two members. A few more people wandered in and at some point I went out to my bike to confirm that I had left the camera in the trailer. I knew I had not taken a picture all day and needed something for the days entry. Oh well, cell phone camera will have to do. The Drummer, Sean I think, asked me about the bike so we talked for a bit too. He is a freelance drummer from Northern Ontario who now lives in Montreal and travels with Chris when he goes on tour.
By 2300hrs a few more people have come in so the band goes on. They played straight through till 0030hrs by which time I counted a dozen patrons. Not a big money maker night for the bar.
On the way out I said my goodbye's to Sean and the girl who plays bass but did'nt see Chris. He came out the door a few seconds after me and thanked me for sticking around and wanted to give me a card so I could join him on facebook so I knew when they were coming to Toronto next.
Cool dudes and dudess.
http://www.colepaugh.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb