Day 3 (June 30, 2008) In the Canadian Rockies


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Lake Louise
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)

I took first place in my category, but then I was the only one who competed
Day 3 (June 30, 2008): Made it to Lake Louise

I broke camp this morning at 0530. Not because I needed to be up at that hour but because I was slept out…lots of fresh air causes a person to sleep very good and I have been sleeping extremely well.

The routine is getting down but I always want to expect the unexpected. Like tonight I am at the Lake Louise National Park and started to set up camp. And then the unexpected…it started to rain. Got all my gear wet but it will dry out…I try and keep my clothing as dry as possible. Tonight I’ll cover the bike so that I will have a dry seat tomorrow.

I left Calgary (population one million!) this morning and in front of me were the awesome Canadian Rocky Mts. I anticipated the gradual slope as I climbed altitude. I’ve heard so much about this part of Canada and it was breathtaking. Snow capped mountains, lush valleys, streams full of rushing water and the wildlife.

I came upon my first elk near Banff…two bulls grazing along the side of the road. Of course, tourists were walking within several feet
Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)Olympic Village-Site of 1988 Winter Olympics (Calgary)

Kind of hard to imagine the 1988 Winter Olympics without snow. I can also imagine the "thrill of victory and the agony of defeat". Anyone for the China games?
to get that award-winning photo. Not me…that’s why I purchased a telephoto lens prior to leaving. I do not trust wildlife.

Since I am in a national park campground, I wondered about bears and the ranger said yes, there are lots of grizzly and black bears in “these parts”. Come to find out the area where they have me is surrounded by an electric fence to keep the critters out…that’s okay with me as I’m sure with JoLynn.

There is so much to do in Banff that a person has to pick and choose what interests them. I wanted to see a panorama of the area so I took a gondola ride to the top of Sulphur Mountain…a view from the 7,486 foot mountain was awesome…the extensive view decks at the upper terminal provide unobstructed 360 degree views of the area surrounding Banff.

Also wanted to get a snapshot of the hotels originally owned by the Canadian Pacific Railroad…the one in Banff is The Fairmont. You’ve seen pictures of it before…kinda looks like a castle in the pines.

Oh, let me backtrack. On my way out of Calgary I came across the Olympic Village for the
Famed Fairmont Banff SpringsFamed Fairmont Banff SpringsFamed Fairmont Banff Springs

The castle like hotel behind me was one of three built by the Canadian Pacific Railroad to attract tourists to this area. I did not go into the hotel but it looks majestic nevetheless.
1988 winter Olympics. I remember those games and seeing the ski jumps and other winter venues was neat seeing them up close. I tried to buy a book about the 1988 Olympics, however, the gift shop is prohibited from selling Olympic branded items…the Olympic committee lets the sites keep items for three years and then pulls them from the site. I was disappointed. But there were two lovely ladies that took time to explain all of that to me…Claudia and Abbey…and for their great “customer service” I gave them a Soldiers Angel t-shirt compliments of Shelle Michaels.

I’m sitting at my site typing on my Apple computer, looking up at glacier and snow filled mountains and I hear an accordion playing in the next campsite. Where is my wife when I needed her!!!!

By the way, Banff is only 850 miles from Bismarck so pack up and take in the sites.

Chris, you need to get a touring bike and we can make trips all over this country…you and me enjoying the great outdoors.

Heidi and Tyler…hope you are doing great and Lucy Mae will be born healthy and kicking!

Take care all and now
Banff Gondola-They pack em in!Banff Gondola-They pack em in!Banff Gondola-They pack em in!

I wanted to see what Banff looked from the air...well, sort of. For a small price of $26 I took an 8 minute ride from 5,194 feet to 7,486 feet. There are 40 gondolas. At the top of Sulphur Mountain is a weather station. Norm Sanson climbed this mountain every week for 30 years to record weather data!
I’m going to walk over and see who’s playing the accordion.

Good night.

Rob

PS: I want to take time to respond to messages sent my way so here goes:

Darin: I have a low maintenance haircut
Brad: Thanks for taking care of mom and dad during mom's surgery
Bib F : I just may have the time to take in Fairbanks and Denali
Lorraine E: Dan and Fred are two awesome guys that rock...may they reach their goal of raising money for the cure for cancer. Keep me posted on their progress
Nimrod: You think I'd eat MREs when I'm alone!
Joyce H: The Latchstring Inn is one of our favorites too
Healthy Pickle: Yes, the scenery is awesome
Daryl R: You are right, it has been and adventure...thanks for coming to the biker send off.
Nate W: Thanks for tuning in to my blog...keep coming back for more
Tyler T: Awesome son-in-law...what more can I say?
Everett H: Hopefully Chris will be able to get a touring or cruiser and we can take some long rides.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Concert in the CampgroundConcert in the Campground
Concert in the Campground

As I was mentioning on my blog, I heard what sounded like an accordion so I investigated. Here's Doris Norman (Sweden) and Ely Kazakoff (Russia) who were simply the two friendliest people that I have met on this trip. Doris is a performance pianist from Sweden and Ely could sing some great Russian folklore songs. Byt the time the evening was over, they had an international concert with several Koreans singing Amazing Grace. What a great way to end a day of firsts.
Elk in the Banff National ParkElk in the Banff National Park
Elk in the Banff National Park

Wildlife is very abundant in the Banff National Park. I came across these two bull elk and what a photographers delight.
Top of Sulphur Mountain...I can see for miles and milesTop of Sulphur Mountain...I can see for miles and miles
Top of Sulphur Mountain...I can see for miles and miles

The view from the top was unbelievable. God created an awesome planet for us to enjoy. Seeing the ultimate beauty of this area makes me want to come back for an extended vacation instead of just passing through.


2nd July 2008

What an adventure
Rob, I am so jealous, when I get my next bike, we will have to do another great adventure together! I like your new hair doo Jody
2nd July 2008

Sounds wonderful
Hi Rob, Thanks for the updates, I know it takes you time to put that nice site together with pictures, but it does give us a sense of your ride and beauty of God's creation. I always marvel at how a persons senses are stimulated on a motorcycle trip. You miss so much in a car. I like it to driving in a tube to get from point A to B. Joe and I did the trip all the way to Jasper and did experience the wonders of the Canadian Rocikies. They are so massive. It would be fun to do a father-son trip again, and get Chris on a long touring ride, you can't beat it . From here on, for the rest of you trip you will be so stimulated by the beautiful "10' surrounding. I learned about the numbering system on one of my previous trips to BC. I met some Canadians on a motorcycle and they were telling of rides I needed to take and how they classified them for 1-10. They did say that Western Canada had the most "tens". You have seen some already and will be seeing many more. Try to stop, and pause for a moment and reflect with the "tens" around you and enjoys God's presence and protection. This moment will be imprinted in your memory forever. Have a safe ride, enjoy. Everett
2nd July 2008

Rockstar
Hi Rob! Just wanted to let you know that we're all checking in on you everyday! How exciting!!! The trip looks awesome! I've been to Banff in the winter and hope to someday get back there in the summer. It looks beautiful! Safe travels to you!! Thanks for the blogging! It's great to follow your journey! Erin
2nd July 2008

Go'in Great
Wow, what an awesome trip. I am glad to hear the rangers are keeping large predators away from your camp, after my first comment any problem in that area would be unfortunate. The open road sounds like it is chock full of interesting people and you seem to have a knack for meeting them. The pix from the top of Sulphur Mountain look simply incredible. Keep up the great blog and keep the moleskin handy!!!!
2nd July 2008

still waiting
Hey dad...just wanted to let you know while you are exploring the great outdoors...I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of Lucy Mae. I am SOOOO ready for her to come. You do all this adventurous stuff while my adventures lay amongst climbing the stairs after Riley or bending over her crib to lift her up. Wow..my life has changed...but I love it. Thanks for all the updates. Ty and I will live our trips through you. Can't wait to see you later this month. Stay safe. Heidi
2nd July 2008

Thanks for including us
Rob, thanks so much for taking the time to write and post pictures. We are thoroughly enjoying your trip from the comfort of our home. We love mountains and wildlife so the pictures are an added blessing. I totally agree with you that our God has blessed us with awesome creation for our pleasure and to help us stretch our belief in His greatness. Enjoy! Edie
2nd July 2008

Awesome Blog
Your June 30 blog really hit home. Jim and I have been through Banff and Lake Louise in 2001. Rode the tram, hiked to the weather station and I took in the Hot Springs after telling Jim to take a hike...literally. There were lots of forest fires so we were limited in where we could go. Really envy you the trip. God speed and can hardly wait to read more.
2nd July 2008

Green with Envy
Appears you are having a great time. Sure wish I were with you, I could help you wrestle that tent. Take care and enjoy.
2nd July 2008

Smoke
Rob, as you have probably heard, ND is full of smoke (haze) from fires buring in Alberta. Have you encountered or driven thru or near any of these fires? It sounds like things are going well, keep it on two wheels and continue to have a blast. For me, we were on our way home one year ago - We arrived back in Bismarck July5th!! Gods Speed my good friend. Dan Vondrachek
2nd July 2008

The people you meet!!
Rob, I can't believe the interesting people you have already met....and they are all from other countries....AMAZING!!! Keep the blog going....I love it!!
7th July 2008

Rob we have really enjoyed your trip trough your blog. You have such a gift of writing. Its almost like talking to you face to face. You are in our prayers, stay safe.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb