Snowboarding dude!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Jasper
March 25th 2008
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK we were a little late in getting there, but we finally got our own snowboards! We arrived right near the start of the ski season, but there was so much drama finding work, sorting accommodation and getting some money coming in, that it took us a little while to get there. But better late than never!

Jamie has always loved snowboarding since he first tried it in Washington DC a few years ago. I have tried skiing a couple of times (the highlight being piggybacked down a ski hill by my teacher on a school trip after I couldn't get down by myself - the shame of it!), but I have also tried snowboarding in NZ. Anyway, we started off hiring our gear and tried both skiing and snowboarding (to be fair), and in the end decided that it had to be boards. They look way cooler.

We looked around for boards in Jasper, and after the sales guy assured me that my board would be kicking Jamie's board's ass, we were sold!

Now for those of you who know Jamie, he's always really good at outdoorsy things, including snowsports. His first time on skis I thought maybe I stood a chance at being better than him, but after a shaky few minutes where he kept trying to keep his feet together like he was on a snowboard, he was ready for black runs! Aargh! I can't believe I've commited to spending my whole life with a man who excels at EVERYTHING! I can only hope that a sport will be invented which will take advantage of my psychic spelling skills or my imagination....

So we've been out on the new boards a few times, and I have to say I'm getting the hang of it! Jamie took some time to bond with his board on the black runs, but has also spent a lot of time with me helping me to master 'falling leaf' and 'edging', and I'm now at a point where I can link turns! I spend a lot of time on my backside or rolling around in the snow holding shattered body-parts, but I think the amount of 'down-time' required between falls is decreasing, and helping to improve my average run time. The biggest problem for me is determining whether I'm 'regular' or 'goofy'. It turns out I'm a bit of both, which Jamie says is not surprising.

Anyhow, we thought we'd post some pics of us in action....




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Jay in the terrain parkJay in the terrain park
Jay in the terrain park

Jay showing off his moves...
Top of the mountainTop of the mountain
Top of the mountain

Getting my boots strapped in


12th April 2008

Great Fun!
Looks like great fun. Still sorry we didn't get to meet up in Argentina.
20th April 2008

Sorry we missed you too!
It's great fun! Still got a lot to learn, but we're in the perfect place for it! We're sorry we didn't get to see you in Argentina, but maybe we'll get to catch up somewhere else in the world...

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb