It gets warmer as you head north, go figure...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Grande Prairie
June 7th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Day 1: Saskatoon-Edmonton: 524 km
Day 2: Edmonton Grande Prairie: 459 km
Total to date: 983 km




Here we go again, another trip, another blog. If you missed the last one, you can catch it at www.mytb.org/patanderin.

Pat R and I left Saskatoon on Saturday at noon, as we had planned. The weather wasn't that great, it's been an odd spring weather wise, with overnight frost in early June. So I bundled up, plugged in my vest, turned on my heated grips and set off for Edmonton, a ride that is just over 500 km.

Pretty uneventful trip, we stayed at my brother's place in Edmonton and set off for Dawson Creek, British Columbia - mile zero of the Alaska Highway - on Sunday morning. The weather Sunday was worse than the day before. There was sporadic rain and it was downright cold. As we headed north on highway 43, we stopped in Whitecourt for a cup of Tim's and again in Valleyview. Up to Valleyview, I had been riding up front. Once Pat R took over the helm, the highway switched to single lane. For some reason, Pat R did not adjust his speed to the new limit. He quickly passed a couple of vehicles and continued accelerating once the road was wide open.

I became concerned as my speedo neared 130 km/h and wondered what his rush was. I didn't however want to get left behind so I did my best to keep up. Then, as we climbed a hill, I saw a flash of neon lime by the roadside and I knew... The flash quickly took the form of a mountie flagging Pat R to the turnout on the side of the road. Pat R overshot him (mainly due to his speed), and as I approached the Constable, I asked with a smile, did you get us both or just the lead bike? He answered that he had us both, me at 127 and Pat R at 132 km/h. Without me volunteering any information about my employment, Cst. Lachance handed us our documents back and wished us a good trip. I must just exude something that tells people what I do for a living. So we got lucky and Pat R got an earful from me...

After that encounter, the weather got a lot nicer. It warmed up and the sun finally peeked out from the clouds. We made Grande Prairie just after 3:00 and discussed what to do about Pat R's rear tire. It was pretty much due to be replaced. He had overestimated the amount of tread left on it prior to leaving home. With the type of roads we will be travelling on, you really don't want a bald tire along for the ride.

So we decided to overnight in Grande Prairie (130 km from Dawson Creek) where there are several bike shops. Pat R will try to find a tire in the morning. I will make the trip to Dawson Creek and take in some sights while I wait to hear from him.

I haven't taken any pictures yet, but I did test my new motorcycle camera mount and will try to post a video I shot just outside Grande Prairie. To view it go here.


Advertisement



22nd July 2009

Riding North
Pat: Met you guys at Haynes on ferry going to Juneau and you mentioned how good the movies were of down under and around the world then went on to say that you would send me copies. I guess I gave you that look - sure that is what everyone says and never happens. Then you assured me you would. Even at that I was surprised and a little embarressed for lack of faith in fellow man for there on the table was your package of cd's. So far we have seen them all and my Buddie is waiting to see them as well. We had a great trip having left June 1 and flying back from Whitehorse on July10. We went to Homar Alaska Prudoe Bay Inuvik Keno and back to Whitehorse bt Tok and Chicken. No wipe outs but almost got bucked off twice. The side excursions to Bella Colla and to Telegraph Creek were most challenging and make one wonder the character of those who built such roads. Thanks again for the CD's. They will be well circulated. Bill Macdonald
24th July 2009

Sometimes people will surprise you...

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb