Well that was a long Day!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
April 29th 2012
Published: April 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have finally arrived in Canada...yes I travelled for something like 30+ hours all in the same day April 28th. Leaving Perth at 00:25am (April 28) for the first flight to Melbourne was difficult as i'm a homebody and i'm leaving my fur babies for 3 months. In Melbourne I had a quick 3 hr layover before I jumped on the mother of all flights to LA. So time to stock up on magazines and well that was it. Did some downward facing dog in that airport and I was set. The flight to LA was suprisingly good. I rode in cattle class of the A380 although I was a little nervous considering all the engine problems in the past and the bad publicity about Quantas etc. So everytime we hit turbulance I thought I was going to die.

The A380 is one freakin nice plane. Even economy is decent although the last time I flew long distance international I was 30 lbs heavier and was squished into a seat. Must recommend losing weight for nicer travelling. Seated at the window of row 87 at the very very back of the plane (back of the third section of economy) near the toilets. Someone did a decent job engineering the plane as there were 5 bathrooms at the back and loads of room to stretch out. Also there were stairs at the back which led up to the premium economy. The couple seated next to be were nice but they werent very chatty. Sad face who doesn't want to talk to me for 14 hrs but instead I kept myself busy with music, movies and the Kardashians! Overall the flight was smooth and went by fast. The plane arrive in LA at 6:30am April 28th.

After we deplaned it was time to line up for American Immigration. WELL this is where I started to lose it. 3 - A380s from Australia (Brisbane, Sydeny and Melbourne) all landed at the same time. Of course what ever lane I pick will always be the slowest (ask Mike to verify this) but I ended up waiting for 1.5hr in line and was one of the last to go through. The officer could see i was ticked but these are people you don't want to make angry. Well he was nice and "Welcomed Me Home!" hahah buddy have you not seen my passport...I know you think Canada is the 51st state but really? I was nice and calm and just accepted it. It was suprisingly nice to not have an accent anymore.

My journey didn't include an overnight stop in LA so I had a long layover waiting for my next and final flight to connect me to Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA at 2pm (April 28th)! The LA airport is not particularily nice and was very dingy. After the customs debacle, I was on edge kindof like coming out of tailings meeting at Fortescue. Well WestJet didn't open till much later so while wandering around I saw the light at the end of my tunnel..or more like the "rbucks" at the end of a long dingy hallyway. Ahhh yes a VENTI Caramel Macchiato please! Settled into a booth, logged on to Wifi and connected to the world on the dark side.

I was able to kill 3hrs suprisingly easy and after getting my bag checked through I proceded to go through the infamous american security. Well I am no longer a fully body scan virgin!!! Wooow I was so excited that the Mexican lady in front of me though I was nuts. I wandered a bit through the airport and suprisingly I did not purchase anything from the Duty Free shop. What a shocker.

On the last flight I was seated beside an amazing lady and we chatted the whole 3hrs into Edmonton. She had a service dog with her so I was able to have some fuzzy therapy on the flight as well. The perfect ending to my very long day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb