Happy New Year Everyone!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bike trip gearBike trip gearBike trip gear

Here\'s a snapshot of the basic stuff i took last year. Note.....no clothing in this photo.
Well it's been a while since I wrote anything here so I thought I'd better slap some random thoughts up for the world to see. Firstly, the Inuvik and Prudhoe Bay trip proved to be worthwhile as I managed ultimately to raise about $5000 for the Heart & Stroke Foundation. Huge thanks to all who donated. Many apologies to those who were unable to track me on this journey too. The good news is that I now own a SPOT tracker and have tried it out on a couple opf smaller road trips. It works really well ...in fact my brother Andy is going to get one for his trip to Mongolia this year!
Ah yes.....Mongolia. If I had the money I would join him this year but sadly this will not be the case. So..........we decided that 2013 will be the year we both go. Basically we have decided that the trip will be from his house (in Ivybridge, Devon UK) to my House (Canmore, Alberta Canada) and will ride through Europe, The Ukraine , Russia, Kazakhstan, Mongolia and ultimately Alaska!
I will be doing this for charity again and will probably tie it in with either the heart & stroke foundation or a kids cancer charity ....or both (tba). Watch this space for more info as we get it. ............and please, if you have any suggestions as to nutrition, visas, camping gear, what charity I should hook up with etc. please drop me a comment and I'll post it up here.
The only thing I have pre-planned for this trip is that I won't be taking the beemer that went to Inuvik and Prudhoe Bay. Basically it's too heavy and will be challenge to deal with in muddy conditions or even just to perform a simple roadside repair. I have pretty much elected to do this trip on a Suzuki DR650. Basic motorcycle and easy to repair. We think the trip will take 5 months total.
WANTED:- Anyone who knows if there is sea freight or air freight from Magadan in Russia to Anchorage Alaska. I know it used to exist but the recession appears to have shut this option down for the time being. If you have any contacts or information please contact me via this blog .....I will be eternally grateful!
In the meantime, some of you asked if I could put a photo of all my gear up on the blog so.......let's see if I can make this happen.

Regards to you all

Nevil

Advertisement



11th January 2011

Awesome!
So it looks as if Nev has got the adventure bug!!! Be great if you could weave S. America into your itinerary :) You can catch a boat from Colon Panama to Cartagena Colombia.
11th January 2011

Steve.....South America is certainly on the cards. Won't be for a few years yet. I'm looking forward to it though!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb