Only 10 days to go!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
July 7th 2010
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well they say Time is a thief and i guess they're right. It seems like I have so much to do in only a few days!
At present the bike is being serviced down in Calgary at ANDERWERKS BMW. Dave Anderson is applying his magic to the GS and also putting up with my numerous calls to him........sorry Dave I guess I must be getting nervous! ANDERWERKS are also fitting my bridgestone tires so that I have fresh rubber for the trip to Dawson (where I'll spoon on the knobbly TKC80's at the campground prior to starting the Dempster and Dalton Highways). I have also purchased 2X2ltr fuel containers for the bike thus adding about 80kms to the range if needed. The reason for this was a small "nightmare" I had a few days ago after I realised that I was overlooking quite possibly the toughest section of road in the Yukon.....The North Canol. Basically it heads north out of Ross River and Dead ends at the North West Territories border at the MacMillan Pass. This section of road was abandoned in 1945, has 60 river crossings and very few intact bridges. It's only 230 kms in length but will turn into a 460km round trip with no fuel stops, villages, towns, first aid stations or cellular coverage. Of all the sections of road that are on the cards for this summer, this is the one that has commanded respect from me. I hope to make it to the MacMillan pass to photograph not only the stunning scenery but the abandoned WW2 vehicles that the U.S. left there over 60 years ago.
This weekend July 10th will see me sending a parcel of food and possibly and extra tire to Dawson City via Greyhound. The parcel will have the infamous heartburning rations for three guys and a few knick-knacks that we don't need to carry up there. I hope the parcel gets there before we do!
I have noticed that some people have tried to use this site as webmail to send me letters etc but i would ask anyone reading this to contact me at nevilstravels@gmail.com. Please by all means use this site to add your comments but just remember that they're only comments and emails/letters should go to my email address above.
On a lighter note, I have a shelving unit in my basement that is loaded with all the gear I intend to take.......I have absolutely no idea how I'm going to get it all on the bike!!! I really should be practicing what I preach and that is "Pack the bike as if you were going backpacking but also carry a good toolkit and puncture repair kit".
I think i have some weeding out to do in the next few days.

Speak to you soon.

Nevil

Advertisement



7th July 2010

BIKE
I think you should bicycle the damn route!
7th July 2010

Do you have room for cookies? :)
7th July 2010

Steve, I'll be having a word with you on Friday!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb