Heartburn and GPS tracking


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
May 27th 2010
Published: May 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm only 24 hours away from heading south to Utah just outside Salt Lake City to view the World Superbike racing this weekend. Needless to say I'm getting quite excited.....in fact the last time I had 5 days off work was last September when I was recovering from a stroke.
Anyway on with the news.........

I think I've figured out a way for everyone to track me as I head North. The other two guys travelling with me (Andrew and Adam) don't know about this yet. I'm not sure if the "Big Brother" idea will be a winner with them. I'll keep you posted.
Anyway, here's the idea. Go to http://www.blacklinegps.com/ and click on LOGIN. Use my new email address nevilstravels@gmail.com and password alaska to gain entry to the site. Once there click on TRACKING then click on LOCATE. after about 30 seconds you should be able to locate me on an overlay of google maps or satellite. I have set the device to transmit every half hour to conserve battery power.
PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CLICKING "TRACK CONTINUOUSLY" because it will expire the batteries quickly on my portable GPS.
I'll be carrying it to Utah this weekend so please email me at nevilstravels@gmail.com to let me know if it worked well (pointless taking it to Alaska and the Yukon if it gets negative reviews). I'll be on the road Friday morning May 28th (Mountain Time).
Remember, I'm doing all this for the Heart & Stroke Foundation this year so while you're enjoying the tracking and blogs, please find the time to go to www.springcreekmv.com/donate and put some money into a good cause. Thanks!

Also. I tried out some British Army Ration packs a couple of days ago. I got these because some parts of the trip will require me to carry non perishable foods that can be packed or "squashed"around all the rest of my gear.
It seemed like a good idea at the time until i tried the "Bacon & Beans" the other day.
I have NEVER had heartburn like this! Maybe I'm getting old but one thing is certain. I'd better buy a box of "Tums" as well!
Regards to you all
Nevil

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb