It's been a busy few weeks.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Canmore
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me April 13th in AlbertaMe April 13th in AlbertaMe April 13th in Alberta

The bike will look a lot muckier after the Dempster I can assure you!
Well the last few days have been pretty busy i must say. During the "Planning" stages for the trip I have encountered a new friend in the form of Cody at blacklineGPS.com. Basically we met on the side of the road near Cochrane Alberta, one thing led to another and he's kindly offered to fit a new GPS tracking device to the bike that wil come with a link so you'll be able to track me in real-time. Huge thanks Cody and I'll be listing you guys as a sponsor of the trip for sure.
In the meantime i have also fitted the Pelican 1500 case to the back of the GS using Happy trail puck mounts. That was a piece of cake so I hope my handywork is up to scratch or i'll be looking for a new topbox soon!
I've also had some professional photos done by Craig douce at the rock Mountain Outlook Newspaper. Thanks Craig. I'll try to post it up here on this site if I can!
May 4th is a date to remember. I'll be doing a radio chat with tom Lowdermilk on Side Stand Up, the world's only radio motorcycle show. you can find
A pelican case for a topboxA pelican case for a topboxA pelican case for a topbox

Nice low profile....I don't need anything bigger.
it at www.sidestandup.com if you're interested.
Also, my good friend and RTW motorcyclist Ian Coates left us last week to continue his journey into Russia. He's now in Vladivostok awaiting the arrival of his bike. It should be with him around April 21st if all goes well.
Ian, we miss you but also realise that you have many more miles ahead of you yet. May you be fortunate the whole way buddy.
More to follow in a few days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mounting BracketsMounting Brackets
Mounting Brackets

Happy Trail mounting pucks are so easy to use and hold well on the GS back rack (i hope).


21st April 2010

Wanted to be the first lol!
Ok Nevil your blog is not a virgin anymore... lol!!! sounds very exciting Nevil... don't forget to sqeeze an Iron Butt run in there... Cheers, Greg (Iron Butt, Canmore)
21st April 2010

Watching your ride
Good luck on your trip, make it a good one. How new is your bike and what have the rest of the crew got.
24th May 2010

Hi David, Sorry about the late reply. I had no idea there was a comment box on this blog site! I guess we learn all the time! The other two guys have KLR 650's. One is a 2008 and the other is 2003 or 2004 I'm not sure. They'll do better on mud and deep gravel than i will for sure. Kindest regards Nevil

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb