Calgary! Nane edition


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
October 27th 2013
Published: November 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I said a big fair well to Petra Chris and Preeti in Edmonton and boarded the greyhound bus to Calgary! It was snowing which was simultaneously beautiful and annoying. The trip was quite enjoyable and I had time to reevaluate my journey so far. Nane was waiting at the station for me and we loaded my heavy suitcase and backpack into her little car and headed to the north west end of Calgary! Nane's home reminds me a lot of her sisters, (my Oma's) house and had a German feel to it! Nane owns and rents out 7 other units in her building and since she is a flood victim since this past June, there was lots to do! Throughout the week and a half I stayed there I helped clear out the crawl space and fill it up, clean carpets, clean and oil leather couches, dust, move things around and help put the house back together! There were still lots to do (electrical, painting, etc) that I was unqualified for but we did what we could! At first my room was 4 white walls, and a half put in window, but by the time I left a bed had been put in, doors and handles, the window, outlets and the closet! It was a new experience that's forsure. During the time I stayed there we checked out spruce meadows which is a magnificent horse farm and building that holds amazing events every summer attracting over 60000 people! The land is huge and has multiple rings and areas for competition and training! We went to the lunchbox one afternoon which is a little play that goes on as you eat your lunch brought from home! I enjoyed the love story about the war pilots even though I'm not really one to ever watch war films! We went to the Canadian Olympic Park which is quite spectacular and holds many opportunities. Too bad that I'm in Calgary for the shoulder season and in the gap between luging and bobsledding! One day! We did get to watch team Canada practice skeleton though which was a neat first time ever seeing that done live! Stage West was another memorable event that was like lunchbox theatre but ten times bigger. It was quite fancy, including the food! The buffet was filled with some of my favourite dishes and so was my belly by the end of the night. The play "I love you because" was a musical and went on after dinner. This was definitely one of my favourite nights! I loved the German style sandwich dinners and playing with Nane's cats. Oh and I got to drive her car.. Which is stick shift.. Which I had no idea how to drive! Scary stuff! The few weeks I was with her gave me a little look into her life, some great conversations, and a few new perspectives on things!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Massive head downtown Massive head downtown
Massive head downtown

Anything is art these days
One day I will bobsledOne day I will bobsled
One day I will bobsled

Maybe not in the Olympics.. But it will happen one day!
Gypsy costume Gypsy costume
Gypsy costume

I never ended up going out dressed up, but constructing this was fun itself!
Nice costume dadNice costume dad
Nice costume dad

You wish you had that much hair lol
Lex was a zombie! Lex was a zombie!
Lex was a zombie!

Love getting photos from home


14th November 2013

Nane and you in Calgary
Wow, what beautiful pictures of you and Nane, much nicer then mine .You had a wonderful time there and I am so glad.You never have a dull moment.Have fun , take care and we love you, Oma and Opa.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb