Days 70 to 76 - Calgary and Banff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
September 20th 2010
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

BanffBanffBanff

Banff townsite as seen from the top of Sulphur Mountain.
After all the fun and sun in Vancouver I was pretty disappointed with the weather conditions in Calgary and Banff. My stay in Calgary wasn’t very long. I have heard it’s a fun spot during Calgary Stampede but I always seem to pass through at the wrong time. I ended up staying town for two nights before catching the Greyhound up to Banff.

I had originally planned to do some hiking during my stay in Banff. Unfortunately for me I was under the weather for most of my stay. I guess I either caught a bug along the way (one of the cons about hostel life) or the general pace of travelling finally snuck up on me.

Despite my best efforts, I spent most of the first full day whacked out on cold and flu tablets. I was grateful to have enough energy on the second day to be able to walk around downtown. The town itself hasn’t changed much since my last visit. Most of the stores that I spotted on my first visit are still there and the streets are still filled with older travelers. Like Vancouver, there’s a huge population of Aussies and Kiwis. I was
Banff Springs HotelBanff Springs HotelBanff Springs Hotel

The original hotel was built between spring of 1887 and 1888 by the Canadian Pacific Railway. The hotel was publicly opened on June 1, 1888. Starting in 1911, a wholly new hotel was built in stages to replace the 1888 structure. I didn't stay here since it was a couple stars out of my price range.
very disappointed to find out that The Saltlik (a spot Jason, Chris and I discovered back in 2006) had changed its menu - no chocolate martinis and no skirt steak sandwiches.

Feeling that I needed to get a dose of physical activity, I visited the Banff Tourist Centre for information on any local hiking trails. After cancelling out trails that required car transport, as well as any that went through bear areas, I opted for the walk up to the Upper Hot Springs. Once there I took the gondola up to Sulphur Mountain. Visitors can hike up to the summit but I decided I wouldn’t make it the way I was feeling.

After another rainy day in Banff, it was a quick Greyhound ride back to Calgary for an overnight stay before my flight out to Toronto.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sulphur MountainSulphur Mountain
Sulphur Mountain

The gondola ride up to Sulphur Mountain. The 5.5 kilometre trail is located beneath the gondola line and features 28 switchbacks.
The Top of Sulphur MountainThe Top of Sulphur Mountain
The Top of Sulphur Mountain

The walkway up to the Sulphur Mountain Cosmic Ray Station. I didn't absorb enough cosmic rays so no super powers for me.
A Gray JayA Gray Jay
A Gray Jay

Also known as the Canada Jay, Canadian Jay and Whiskey Jack.
A Golden-mantled Ground SquirrelA Golden-mantled Ground Squirrel
A Golden-mantled Ground Squirrel

This little fella is practicing his "Blue Steel" pose.


Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb