Banff - Alberta


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
March 10th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After an easy flight to Calgary I jumped on the Banff express which took about an hour. First impressions were positive. Being in the heart of the Rocky Mountains inside a national park is not a bad place to base yourself for a few months. The town is obviously touristy but nothing like Whistler. I checked into the hostel which was near downdown, met some buddies and went out for cheap steak night. Pretty good start and I had a great night out.

The lift pass situation here is also bloody expensive ( 1500 bucks) but it does include 3 mountains - Sunshine, Lake Loiuse and Banff Norquay. I was never going to get a job without a work visa so I bought it and decided to use it all the time and just try and save money when I can. The only problem with Banff ( and most Canada skiing) is that you need to take a bus or drive to the resorts. Banff is actually busier in the summer as its in a national park and you can start climbing in May. I looked into buying a car but the insurance is ridiculous. They said they could reduce it if I could prove 6 years of no claims. With my history - forget it!

Its a 20 minute drive to Sunshine and 45 mins to Lake Loiuse. After a while spending 15 bucks a day to get the hill I thought I'd give hithhikers lane a go along with all the other snowboarders. I never had to wait more than 5 mins. So now I'm a hitch hiker bum living the perfect life. It really doesn't get any better than this.

I just want to say I am having the time of my life. I am finally living my dream and I have never been so happy. I found a great place to stay right downtown and met some great friends. The hills are amazing and power is on its way. Its always there but you have to have the energy to hike. The nighlife is amazing and I have met some great locals. I ride most days and my level of riding is improving all the time.

I'm much more of a backcountry rider than a park rider but I have been heading off in the park recently. Been doing some nice big airs and although I'm doing 360's off the smalls and mediums I haven't had the courage yet to try it off the big boys. I thought I broke my hand ollieng onto a rail but I'm ok. So I've decided to stay away for a while and just spin on the mountain.

My roommate is a crazy Canadian and we have been doing some great hikes and powder runs in the back bowls of Lake Louise. Better than sex anyday but the Star Wars run out of the West bowl is a bitch. It gets its name from Return of the jedi when Luke is on the bikes going through the trees. You can't slow down and every tree is your enemy! Thankgod for my helmet!

We have found the ultimate bowl and runs but we are waiting for a while as we need tranceivers, a shovel and probe to tackle them and the right training. We are going to do some avalanche traing and hire the gear so we have the confidence of knowing we can survive if we get into trouble. I'm almost orgasming writing this. What a fucking life! All i can say is live your life before lefe gets holds of you and you never accomplish your dreams!




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Powder DayPowder Day
Powder Day

This is a glimpse of Lake Louise's back powder bowls - Fucking awesome!
WowWow
Wow

Can you spot lake minnewanka?


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb