Sensational Syria


Advertisement
Middle East
April 14th 2011
Published: April 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DamascusDamascusDamascus

Roman ruins in the old City
Mmmmmm I wasn't too sure about Syria before I went. I mean, I had always wanted to explore the region but with all the current unrest all I could hear in my head was my father's stern voice saying ' you're not going to Syria Amy'. Opps - and wan't it named as part of the axil of evil??!?! Well now that I am out of the country safely I can now blog about it. Better knowing after the event hey dad??? 😊

Due to the current violence in Syria we did cut our stay short and only managed to visit Damascus which was definitely worth it. Just a short 2 hours from Beirut, Damascus is old school Persia. Carpets, spices, souqs and mosques ringing out over the city is a delight. Our stay was also helped by our ability to score a really cheap room at one of the city's best hotels - this scheme has been working well on our trip so far as most hotels are desperate for business during this Arab revolution. Let's hope things don't get too hot for us next in Israel...

Damascus is a labrynth of tiny lanes and markets that line
SyriaSyriaSyria

Flags waving in the souq
the streets. The grand mosque is amazing however I did have to wear a hiddeous grey Ewok outfit when I went inside. I especially loved wandering around the markets and stumbling upon beautiful secret gardens or courtyards. The food was brilliant - loads of hommus, dips and yummy pita breads and things were chesp. With the Aussie dollar so good right now and with everything here dealing in US dollarts, it couldn't be a better time to travel.

The Syrian people have probably been the most firendly of those we have met in the Middle East so far and surprisingly to us, they didn't pester you while shopping unlike in Egypt or elsewhere. We were lucky enough to be invited into a Syrian home for tea and it was intersting to see his take on politics. He was keen for the current regime to stay as there was no other alternative and was hoping that the riots would not reach the capital. Already he had noticed a massive decline in tourism as a result of the TV reports. I can honestly say though, that we didn't feel any angst or see anything that looked dodgy. Walking around in the Old City at night was in fact pretty safe however, we have planned to avoid the hot spots down South by flying to Jordan in order to get across to Israel.

So until then...






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

DamascusDamascus
Damascus

Buying spices at the market
DamascusDamascus
Damascus

mmmmmm sheesha...
DamascusDamascus
Damascus

A beautiful old Khan inside the old city
DamascusDamascus
Damascus

Lolly sellers in the souq
DamascusDamascus
Damascus

Me as an Ewok or the monk from The Davinci Code


14th April 2011

Reminds me of Marrakesh! No bringing home any Syrian special friends now!
27th April 2011

Hi, I cam across your blogs when searching for ideas on a future trip to South America that my wife and I are planning. But then I came across some of your Middle East blogs and read those too, which were especially interesting for me because I've been to many of the places you describe (and if fact work in Qatar). Anyway, your writing style is very good as well as being informative, and so for that reason I pressed the 'recommend' button on your profile. keep up the writing and happy travels.

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb