And it's hit 50°C


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MitchyMitchyMitchy

Thinking about the meaning of life, with a banana
Yes it has! And boy was that a comfortable day. Coupled with the humidity which is currently about 70% it makes it the hottest and muggiest place to be at the moment. Apparently it is suppose to get worse as well with August the worst time to be alive.

I haven't really done or achieved much since you were last on here reading my about my life. I am now back in Dubai at work, waiting, as Bailey and myself are in the process of getting residence visas here. Other than getting a drivers licence I don't exactly know what other benefits there are in getting one, but I guess we'll just have to find out. The last two weeks in the office has been some of the best this year as we have a new recruit from Scotland. Mitchy is here on work experience during her university holidays and boy does she light things up. The stories that comes out of her mouth makes you laugh and wonder at the same time, mostly laugh though. She's here until the end of July and is currently offshore (a novelty yes). I must say, I'm looking forward to when she
The dark horseThe dark horseThe dark horse

I found this thing and decided there is still as child inside. The shop keeper loved it.
gets back I am bored #$@%less here in the office.

As for me, I've been here in the office finishing off some reports that people just can't seem to write while I wait wait and wait. In the time that I have been here I have gotten out onto the golf course with a few of the managers from the company for the "monthly" tournament that seems to happen bi-annually. That was a blast as it was on one of the best courses in Dubai. Cost about NZ$180 for the round. Thanks to the company for picking up that little tab. I ended up winning which was nice as I get to parade around the office with a trophy now and bragging rights on top of the All Blacks. The heat that day hit about 45° so I was sweating from the outset. However, we did get iced towels brought to us to cool us down which was light relief.

More recently Bailey's girlfriend (she was his "wife" over here in Sharjah) came over to visit so was really cool to catch up with her after so long. I think she is the only other person I have
Team Alpha Wolf SquadronTeam Alpha Wolf SquadronTeam Alpha Wolf Squadron

The newbie in this photo is Annie, the Swede in the desert. She was Carls 'wife' for the last 10 days while in Sharjah. Had a blast while she was here
met who loves chocolate as much as me so we were in our element over here as she keep buying me all of this Swedish chocolate. Thank you Annie!! Yesterday I caught up with cousin chelle and her other half jeremey (and a freind of theirs staying) in their new 4wd Wrangler. We hit the desert mountains and tried to cross the border into Oman but they wouldn't have a bar of it as I only had a copy of my passport not the original thing. So we detoured down the UAE and went through a Wadi (dried up river bed) which was entertaining as I was the navigator and despite having a map, nearly got lost on several occasions. On the way back Jeremey got ripped off trying to buy some rugs at a market but was entertaining for Chelle and myself watching it all unfold. After he handed over his money they just gave one to Chelle which made me laugh.

And that takes us to now where I am in the office bored as anything waiting for this stupid visa. They are trying to claim I have overstayed my 60 days on 3 seperate occasions. Idiots.
Four Seasons Golf ClubFour Seasons Golf ClubFour Seasons Golf Club

This was the golf club of the course I played at. Cost $21m to build(just the club house), in the shape of a golf swing too, in case you didn't realise it
Anywho, I thing I am going offshore soon which will be a relief and then a trip to Europe somewhere. Ideas anyone? I was thinking France but again who knows.

Until next time. . . Oh yea, I'll put some photos up soon. I know I always say this then don't but I will this time.

Ta Ra!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Four Seasons Golf ClubFour Seasons Golf Club
Four Seasons Golf Club

Another shot. Can't complain when the company pays for it all too!
Four Seasons Golf ClubFour Seasons Golf Club
Four Seasons Golf Club

The water got the best of the director, and commercial manager on this day, losing their fair share of balls


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb