happy new year!


Advertisement
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

hola senors and senioritas!
have I told any of you my grand plan to learn Spanish when I return home? well I've decided I need to know more languages and Spanish is the first...

anyways, back to the country I am actually in at the moment!
I wish I had my journal with me right now because I know I'm going to forget things, but then it's kinda good cuz I'll still have stories to relay when I get home that nobody has yet heard

Last week Anna and I and 2 of her friends went to Dubai to go to Global Village, which is a huge area filled with kiosks from different countries around the world. There were performances and shopping and loads of giggling from us. It's hard to describe it without it sounding sorta lame, but trust me it was really cool to see things and people from around the world all gathered in one place.

We went to Dubai another day also and saw museums and mosques and such. One was the house of Sheikh Saeed and it had loads of photos of the royal family and what Dubai used to look like. You could wander through all the rooms and they all had displays and since we were the only people there it really felt like we were snooping through someone's house, which is something I always enjoy.

The ride back from Dubai was interesting. We took the city bus and decided that it would be cheaper to ride it to the airport then catch a taxi from there. We accidently got off at the wrong stop at one point and when we got back on we made our way to the back (the front is where women are meant to sit) and sat amongst staring Indian men. Once they got used to us they stopped but one white guy seeing us from outside the bus gave us a mighty strange stare. One younger guy kept trying to catch my eye and smiling at me, I avoided looking at him but then he was able to sit next to me and offered to share his walkman with me. No thanks. The taxi at the airport was like a VIP limo and we felt we were riding in style until we realised that instead of starting at 5 dirims it started at 20(!) but it still ended up being cheaper and it was all part of the experience.

Then there was a day we had a fire at the beach and stayed out really late and I'd agreed to go surfing the next morning. I went with but did not end up in the water like the crazy persons that did. It was a beautiful morning so I was glad to see it.

Then yesterday we went on the ultimate in touristy packages-the desert safari. If you do one of these make sure you don't get easily motion sick. It was ubes amounts of fun dune bashing, our driver was really good and I knew I was safe even when it seemed like our car was going to tip right over. I also got more henna done, rode a camel, saw an amazing belly dancer and ate some great food. It's interesting to note that there were seperate buffet lines for the men and women and my theory is that in a line like that it might be improper for us all to be pressing up against each other. It happens, though, a couple of times I've had my bum felt "accidently" when there was the opportunity to.

I think that brings us up to date, I wanted to put photos on too but I've forgotten the cord that attaches my camera to the computer. I will try to put some on before I head to Burma, however I only have a few days left here so don't hold your breath for that!

have a most happy new year, I will be celebrating all night and morning on the beach here!
much love
Alexis

Advertisement



2nd January 2007

please check the travel advisory for thailand/burma
Hi Alexis, we sent you an email but thought you might see this first. Several bombs went off in Bangkok, causing the US, Britain, Canada, and Australia to advise people NOT to travel there. You might want to read the advisory and check out the news before getting on a plane. The tone of the news we are hearing is not good. Please be careful and keep in touch! Love, Dad
3rd January 2007

ya dead man?
hey babe, just hope you're ok ion bangkok, now you be careful I don't want to reform my crude and innapporpriate sense of humor reggarding amputees if you get your self blown up in baNGKOK. i know i know, so far like only 3 people have been killed, and I'm being annoying about worrying but really, you'd be annoyed if nobody was worried about you getting detonated. love you tons!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb