dhoom machale!


Advertisement
Published: December 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

wow! things have changed in blog-world! there is now an option for RAK on the list of places for the UAE, I feel like maybe I had something to do with it, with being the coolest person travelling at the moment and all.
okay, so I know I haven't posted in a long time but it feels like I just posted because usually every time I post it's been from a new place and I've been stationary for the lonest period of time since I left home now.
Last weekend I went and saw Anna in the lead role of Hercules in the Christmas pantomime (put on for and by the ex-pat community, just so nobody gets upset about there being no Christmas here) and it was tamam (Arabic for super fantastic) then we went to the skeezy karaoke bar and sang quite a few songs and I FINALLY got to sing to my song, Total Eclipse of the Heart by Bonnie Tyler.
Earler that day day we went fishing and I had to do a repeat of my hanging onto the ladder peeing fiasco of Koh Lipe. Not pretty.
THEN this week we saw the MOST AMAZING MOVIE EVER, it's a Hindi movie called Dhoom 2 and if you get the chance you should see it. I checked on the internet and it's playing in Vancouver on Kingsway. Good songs, good dances, amazing action and the hottest Indian with green eyes you will ever see.
then the weather was bad, as it has been on and off since I got here. I went downstairs at Troy's house and there was water pouring in through a switch in the wall so I phoned him at work (he's a TA and watches South Park and House on his computer all day) and he came home. Then his dad came home and we had to move all the furniture (and turn off the power) and attempt to get rid of the flood. very exciting and scary for me since I'm a guest and didn't know what to do. phoning Troy, then eating a bowl of cereal seemed to be the best option. I'm useless with an empty belly.
Yesterday a friend of Anna's (James) and his mom took me to the museum and Fran told me all sorts of interesting things about RAK and the Emirates, things she says a lot of the locals have lost touch with. Did you know that using a wind tower, wet towels and buckets of water they could make ICE?! also this is a very good area to find fossils and artefacts cuz basically they're just covering it all up with construction so if you find something you can keep it. maybe not legally. but you could do it. not that i will. Fran said she would take me to arcaeological sites once the rain stops long enough for the areas to dry up. nerdy good times to be had by this art historian.
last night we did a pub quiz and came in 3rd to last, it was pretty hurting but pretty fun. if only we hadn't been the youngest people there we might have done a wee bit better. then we went to the Hilton to the Havanna room and saw a Columbian band play.
today is the Christmas party at the Hilton and we're meant to dress up and all I have to wear on my feet are my Chakos, not the prettiest footwear, I feel like a schlub. oh well, i'm sure it'll be fun.
also has anyone seen the show House? I held off on watching it for a long time cuz I thought it'd be lame but Troy got me watching it and it's a great show, right up there with CSI and the guy reminds me in a weird way of my father especially the time period when he'd broken his foot and had to walk with a cane.
and if anyone wants to send me anything mail-wise the address I can recieve it at is

I'll be here til Jan 10th. and please nobody say that I didn't send you mail, I sent postcards that I hear have made it finally and I couldn't find my address book in the confusion of packing and leaving so I might not even have your current address so send it to me if you don't get a postcard. breathe.
alright, I think that's all for now
much love
Alexis

Advertisement



15th December 2006

AH - lex - ES! AH - lex - ES!
What's goin' down? Sounds like you are having a blast. I couldn't help but notice that in this post you mistakenly spelled "longest" as "lonest"--is this a slip revealing something?? I think not, judging from the exciting dino digs with Fran you have to look forward to. I spent a lunch break with Muhommad two days ago. He's looking into horseback riding lessons. Keep having fun! Jane

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb