Its sooo Hot !!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
July 3rd 2004
Published: July 3rd 2004
Edit Blog Post

Dubai 1Dubai 1Dubai 1

Dubai was full of interesting skyscrapers, this is a famous hotel situated next to the beach.
Its sooo Hot here in Dubai so the first day after breakfast I decided to check out the hotel roof top pool where ther were a few blokes running around and jumping in and out of the pool in their pants - wasn't quite sure where to look so just read my travel guides and waited until they had gone before I decided to test the water for myself.
I debated for along time if it was appropriate for me to strip down to my swimming costume in public in an Arab country, in the end I figured it would be ok to dip my feet into the sun-heated warm water.  But it wasn't too long before the unbearable heat became erm.... unbearable and I went inside where I slept until late afternoon.  What I liked about the hotel was the fact that although the rooms were pretty basic the lobby was imaculate and they provided services you would not expect from a cheap basic place like the free shuttle to and from the airport and shopping malls.   I made use of this service to go shopping when I arrived tat the mall at around 4.30pm most of the shops were
Dubai 2Dubai 2Dubai 2

A completely fake oasis in the desert - the locals seem really proud of this park and the guide insisted we had our photos taken despite minging dead fish in the water!!
closed!!!!  hat I didn't realise was that they were going t open again and the mall would come to life, surprisingly playing all sorts of western crappy pop music like the cheeky girls.  I picked up a few bargains from the dept. store and had my tea - a not so healthy burger/fries/coke meal for less than two pounds.
The next day I went on a city tour and enjoyed the beach before the desert climate beat me again and I ended up sleeping though the hottest hours of the day.
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb