Day 28 - Arrived in Dubai - total relax!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
August 18th 2013
Published: August 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in the early hours this morning, but then the click went back 4 hours. That screws your body clock up, but at least I can get used to that 4 hours and it will be less of an impact when I get home! On arrival the hotel is very impressive. It is a huge room, huge bed and has everything you could need!

This is the total extreme of what I have been experiencing for the last 4 weeks, not including Sai Kung, of course! I haven't ventured out yet as it is really early in the morning, but I am a bit disappointed with the surrounding building works. Once I get out there, it may not be a much of a building site as it looks from the 14th floor! But I suppose the reality is that it is a modern, up and coming country..... What can you expect!

I had a very enjoyable, civilised. breakfast the morning, then trotted off down the beach for an hour. It was so hot and I had forgotten sun cream. I set off back to the hotel to get some, and dropped off at Starbucks for a nice latte. Hmmmm .... Very chilled, no rushing!

I was right about the building works, but it's not just my bit, they are building a new strip the whole length of this area, it is easily overlooked once you get on the beach. In may go round the pool when I get back. It is too hot to walk around!

I have spent the rest of the day around the pool! Improved my tan a bit. Had a rest from sunbathing a couple of times when I got a drink, otherwise.... Day done. Tonight before dinner I spoke to the travel bloke and booked a few trips. Going on a night safari in the desert, a Dubai tour, and going up the Burj Khalife....that's all I can fit in!

Dinner was lovely. I just popped out to the ATM for the cash to pay for my trips.... A quick £200 and I didn't even see it coming! I think it'll be worth it as its hard doing stuff on your own... Lol I just stopped off at Starbucks for a coffee as I get free wifi here. It is £20 an hour in the hotel! Then it'll be back to my room for a bit of world news!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



18th August 2013

Plush
Hi Hotel looks very posh, dont try and fit that dressing gown into your travel bag. Bet it all feels lovely but I bet after a couple of days of r&r you will be raring to go again.It is quite a building site isn't it but round the pool looks lovely. Was it a good move pre-booking dinner as £20 wi fi an hour doesn't bode well for the cost of everything else.Enjoy your luxury and keep you eye out for an ultra rich sheik ;0) Soooo excited about my yoga trousers yikes. xxxx
19th August 2013

Hi Don
I should have just gone B&B as there is a couple of miles of places to eat, but the hotel food is amazing too, so I eat there, then come out, at Starbucks again! I haven't heard a proper English voice for a few days now so when I opened your comment it made me feel comfy! Even though I'm only reading it. I slept for 12 hours last night. I guess that's the hard part of the jet lag done. I am going in the desert tonight! X
19th August 2013

Hi Les Going on the tours will break the week up. you have been with a group of people 24/7 so it will be a bit of a shock to the system to go from one end of the spectrum to the other being on your own. Is it busy it looked quiet by he pool area but phptographs can be deceptive.Still think it was the best idea booking into the hotel for your meals on a night but im getting ti be a fuddy duudy not a treveller like you :0) I am gobsmacked that they charge you for wifi, one of thr most up and coming advanced Cities. I would also make several trips to starbucks to keep in touch with home. Can you use the ipod for films,books etc in your room, otherwise it could be along night, but not if you continue with 12 hours sleep!!! Off work today and it is beautifulso just taking Moll on park then doing some gardening.Sale on in Asda so will look if any yoga gear. Got a top like your black one in Sainsbuys sale (some nice purple ones but not our sizes) and a bright salmon pink vesty thing fron tk max thought it looked baggy off, but actually quite snug o!. MUST get back on the fitness app. Catch up with gossip when you get back ( if i remember it!!!) Enjoy your trips. Keep safe. xx
19th August 2013

P.S. Enjoy the desert.xx

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb