Dubai - moving out


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
July 13th 2013
Published: July 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Another trip from Qatar to Dubai. If I don't do this every two to three weeks, I will go insane in Qatar. Ramadan started on the 10th; last year in Dubai, it hardly registered because it was so easy to access - take away is available most everywhere and it was nice during the mornings when the streets were relatively quiet. I think it is going to be a little more pronounced in Qatar. Indeed - the airport was completely empty. There is nothing to do there anyway, and even the limited restaurants and cafes were shut until 7:15pm.

During my brunch a couple of weeks ago, we were given a scratch off ticket for a free night at one of the Rotana Hotels. My ticket said "Arjaan" which is in Media City, Dubai. So, I decided to book it this weekend and stay an extra night, since it was a Ramadan sale.

I arrived after landing in Dubai - thanks to e-gate, I literally got to the hotel about 40 minutes after my flight pulled into the gate! Unfortunately, the hotel would not accept my voucher - I am extremely unhappy about this and plan to write a strongly worded letter to Rotana. To be fair - this is my first time to be unhappy with Rotana (it also continued through the next two days: 25% discount on Iftar instead of the advertised 30%, which was not very good, and they could not undo the "block" on my card for the room fees, meaning I was basically charged twice - I felt like I was being swindled).

Anyway, the room was fantastic, though it was not really a room - it was more of an apartment. Actually, it was bigger than either of my apartments! I figured this would be the perfect place to put my parents if they ever come to visit. There was a living room, fully stocked kitchen, powder room, a huge bedroom and a huge bathroom, with two private balconies overlooking the Palm in the Gulf. Amazing. Unfortunately, because of the previously described experience, I doubt I'd come back or event recommend it.

After checking out, Jamie and I went to the Mall of the Emirates so she could look for some household items and I could get a new bra, pay my du bill and send money home. We got take
Kitchen at ArjaanKitchen at ArjaanKitchen at Arjaan

love the Arabian accents
away and returned to my place to pack a few remaining items to go to her new apartment. Her place is located in the middle of Dubai Marina with easy access to everything. It's in a really nice building and I am very happy/jealous for her. I get to stay there whenever in town in her old super comfy day bed. We dropped off the new things and headed to the spa. I got a manicure, pedicure, foot massage, and a shampoo with blow dry. She got her beautiful hair colored - just subtle highlights. The woman who did our hair was like a machine - super fast. Jamie said she basically told her what she wanted and was 100% correct. I was impressed with her hair drying system - she had an assistant, which made me feel like I was in for surgery. It was awesome. Despite the time efficiency, neither of us at any point felt rushed - it was another great spa day!

Then we headed to Wafi Center/Mall to meet with Eric and Joevet. We arrived a little early and looked around. I found a shirt in a different color I'd fell in love with in Doha. Then we went to a home store and found the jewelry tree Jamie had bought in Indonesia that I also fell in love with - she bought me it for my birthday. Whoohoo!

After meeting Eric and Joevet, we went to a Mexican restaurant - Cactus Cantina - and had some pretty good food. It was new at the Wafi, but they go to the older one in the Bur Dubai (?) area that they love. Mmmm.... Mexican food! Next we went mini golfing in this awesome glow-in-the-dark course in the mall. Too fun! Eric got the low score for the week. I got two holes-in-one, but pretty much sucked every other time. Finally, Jamie and I made a journey to Ikea since we were somewhat nearby and got all the items she had left to make her place the minimum usable. This was my first time in Ikea. Most of you know how I feel about crowds - they make me grouchy! But the store was interesting and the one in Doha supposedly finally opened so I guess I need to check it out...

Today, I'm moving out of my apartment and I am super sad. It was a great place, significantly better than my place in Doha. but I am never here. It shouldn't take too long. Hopefully the move out will go smoothly...


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Mall bathroomMall bathroom
Mall bathroom

like, the MALL bathroom!


13th July 2013

:)
I have 2 things to say. 1) your straight hair (and you) look amazing. 2) I want to mini-golf like that!! :)
15th July 2013

Great photos!
Thanks for sharing, pookie. Send another update soon!
17th July 2013

Hey girl!
Well, i miss you bunches and finally have a second to read a blog or 2! Chris and luzsha are asleep. Im on summer break and can finally breathe. Love the glow mini golf and view from the room. So glad you have jamie and mexican food in your life. I can rest easy now. Good night and much love!

Tot: 0.551s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 43; qc: 167; dbt: 0.2896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb