Almost ready to move in


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
July 29th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I was kind of checked out of work today. I finished the pile analysis (yay!!! Actually doing engineering!!!!), set up some lab tests and worked a little on some report corrections. Then I had to go to DEWA to get the electric and water turned on and switched to my name at my new apartment. The taxi came to pick me up and took me to the metro near where it was supposed to be - he had no clue where it was. So, I went inside the metro terminal and asked a few people; fortunately the ticket seller knew that it was directly across the street (Sheikh Zayed Road). And very fortunately, each metro has an indoor pedestrian bridge across the highway and the outlet to DEWA was right next to the building.

I walked into the Dubai Municipal Building and I was pretty impressed. The whole two open floors each had their own special niche. There was immigration, driving, parks and rec, and DEWA. I took my ticket and had to wait for about 10 minutes. I showed my tenancy contract and visa, gave some money and was done in about 30 minutes total. Very easy process (I imagine if you get into busier town areas it is not quite as simple). But at least that is one worry scratched off. Next will be getting my internet/phone/cable hooked up.

I was too exhausted to go back to work, so I went back to my hotel to finish my packing and do a little work before I passed completely out for about 2 hours. Jamie and I went to the Mall of the Emirates around 7:30 to get some bedding. She told me horror stories of her dentist appointment. I am very glad I made sure to get my dentist appointment in just before I left; I had finally found a new, amazing dentist and I knew I had to take advantage of that.

We went to one store, but the bedding and towels were kind of cheap, so we went to the Home Centre (Joevet's suggestion), which is a big pottery-barn-like store, only a little cheaper. We looked around for a while and she got her bed set for the day bed, while I tried to decide on mine. The sheets were not much to brag about, but I finally settled on wine colored 😊 sheets, with a white feathered duvet and two pillows (of different types). I am very excited to see the place all put together. And Jamie is hiring a maid to thoroughly clean the place Tuesday morning before we officially move in! The Home Centre has a lot of stuff I need, so I'll probably just go back again tomorrow to get things like glasses, dishes, and pots and pans, towels, clothes drying racks, hangars, etc...

Just two more nights at Cassell's, which we've decided is a really great place to stay. I highly recommend it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb