Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 12th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Dubai AirportDubai AirportDubai Airport

It was huge. However at 5am it was completely empty. Getting through security was a piece of cake and completely uneventful
Dubai airport was amazing. Unfortunately I didn’t take many photos here. I’ve only ever flown in and out of airports so thought I would have plenty of time taking photos on the day we depart – what an idiot I am. Afterwards it dawned on me that we wouldn’t be back there! Ugh! The water features, the lifts and everything was worth taking photos of! Sorry people! Getting in a taxi was straight forward, telling them the name of the hotel apparently wasn’t, because my pronunciation of words is pretty shot. He eventually worked it out.

Arriving at our hotel I had to just love the location. Its one thing booking these things online its another seeing them in person and perspective. The Qamardeen was just beautiful. We were beautifully greeted, and told that we were fortunate that our room was empty, so if we liked we could go straight up! Now this I hadn’t planned on. I guess it’s a good thing I didn’t plan for it, in case it wasn’t. Now there would have been nothing nicer than to actually crawl into bed and get some sleep. With a tour being booked and all, we didn’t have that
HotelHotelHotel

The room was gorgeous, the view to the bathroom a touch different however the toilet was private which was nice
luxury so instead decided once we checked out the room to go for a walk across the road and see the Burj Khafalia. Now for how early in the morning it was, the one thing you had to take notice of straight away, was the place was Hot Hot and HOT! Robert kept mentioning how no one was around. Um its Saturday morning well before 9am, and its fricken hot, why would they walk around?

We headed back to the hotel and after a couple of confused telephone calls, we established we were to be picked up about 9:15am. We booked a city tour though Oasis Palm Tours. The driver that collected us was very friendly. He informed us that we had three other ladies to collect and then our tour guide. We had a mini tour getting there as the driver was happy to explain and tell us about his city. The guests we collected were Indian Ladies. It was kind of funny, the first stop was at the Dubai creek. Now with all the gorgeous dow boats in the area, the part we stopped didn’t have any, and we were welcomed to jump out of the van and take photos. I stepped out in the 40 degree heat, then turned around and jumped back in the van. So did everyone else. We our guide eventually joined us, we then made our way over to the Dubai Museum. We were told we would have half an hour to look around, but the best thing to do would be to make our way to the back of the Museum and go down the stairs to an airconditioned section. That was all I needed to know. I guess booking this the first day wasn’t the best thing to do, but hey, everything booked on the internet looks so much different that in life.

Not sure what I think of the Museum. I mean it might have been interesting. However I’ve been to museums back at home, and just found it odd that all the visitors were taking photos at every single exhibit. I mean I kept looking at what they were seeing, and I guess I didn’t see what they did? Some of the things were interesting but I’m not sure about how real photo worthy they were. I was starting to get hungry.

We were then driven over the the Gold Souk. The guide asked if anyone was actually interested in getting out. I think it was noted that we were all struggling with the heat. No one was particularly interested in buying gold, so we didn’t stop there. I had wanted to at least take photos … oh well.

Next part was going for a drive over to see that Burj al Arab. Now that was impressive. Everyone jumped out at this stop to get photos. I ran over to touch the water. Would have been lovely to have just dived into the water, but was feeling really sick by this time. Oh we did stop first at a petrol station. I got a nut bar to eat, to try to curb the nauseated feeling that still hadn’t gone away.

By the time we were then driven to view the Burj Khalfia, I was ready to vomit. I didn’t get out of the van at all. Was funny, I was sitting in there with the driver, who I couldn’t fully understand what he was saying, but I picked up enough to realize he was saying something about the Indian ladies, and some particular area
The hotelThe hotelThe hotel

from outside
from India where the ladies just sit around all day and get fat. It cracked me up, but I guess very inappropriate and all. Oh well … can I just get to my bed already?

Thankfully we were driven back and arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm. It was time to completely crash! Which we did. The plane was to wake up a bit later and go grab a bite to eat, however we just slept through.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

the water features were amazingthe water features were amazing
the water features were amazing

I just wanted to jump in
More viewsMore views
More views

Was just so calm and beautiful. Loved all the sandstone style finishes
Thai restaurantThai restaurant
Thai restaurant

We were going to have eaten there that first night but slept through it. Didn't get the chance in the end


31st May 2012

Beautifully shot pictures!
All the pictures are so beautiful and and very well shot.
31st May 2012

Thankyou. Definitely thinking of doing a photographic course to refresh myself on alot of aspects of photography. Glad you have enjoyed what I've posted.

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb