Inaugural post, Dubai airport


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
March 21st 2009
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

8.30am Dubai time

I am not an avid proponent of blogs, even less so travel blogs. However, after 3 years of lost cameras and poorly sustained diaries, I have decided to take advantage of the 'EK Lounge' free wireless with the aim of giving anyone who is interested updates on my next six months in China.

My brain is not functioning to capacity, maybe due to lack of sleep, maybe due to 3 double gin and tonics courtesy of Emirates, who may I say are quite simply the best airline I have ever flown with. Where du'bai quality like that? (that one is for you Pyrah - there will be more). I watched VickyChristinaBarcelona on the plane, respectable if I may say so myself, but any attempts to impress the asian brummy man next to me were futile when Mamma Mia hit the screens. Plans to do some serious reading of classics were squandered when 'Cityboy' was purchased, I obviously haven't even picked up his talent for comedic writing.

Anyway, 13 hours into the trip I hit a low point (might take a while to beat but I will work on it I promise) in the smoking room of Dubai airport. An amalgamation of sorry looking smokers crammed into a fish tank the size of a KFC disabled toilet, whilst a security guard watched us like convicts from outside. Pretty sure I am not going to be going for another cigarette.

Sorry nothing much of substance has happened yet, but I am pretty sure the Heineken swigging Chinese man who just spat into the bin next to me has a few tricks up his sleeve.

Beijing next. Trying to find somewhere to watch Arsenal 15 minutes after I arrive, nightmare.

Advertisement



7th April 2009

craigslistdecoded
I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often. Miriam http://www.craigslistdecoded.info

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb