If i'm sweating like a pig here, what is my sweat level in Ghana??


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I am in Dubai right now on a four hour stopover. I just endured an 8 hour flight from Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur, a 3 1/2 hour stopover and then a 7 hour flight from KL to Dubai then this stop over. My ankles have swollen to the size of a large elm tree trunk.... and to make matters worse, my throat is swollen and my medication is in my checked luggage! I'm surviving on the tastes of Lemon/mint Riccolla lollies because I couldn't find strepsils anywhere!

So theres my first whinge for the trip. But I am super excited to get to Ghana, it's just a matter of getting through this next 8 hour flight. And I am worried about how hot it is going to be! I mean stinking hot, 38 degrees Celsius each day! I also had my first malaria tablet with success. I have heard stories of hallucinations and other crazy side effects if you take the tablet without food, but I was alllll fine. So, hopefully with Donna's mosquito net, a tonne of insect repellent (tropical strength in various brands) and malaria tablets, the mosquitoes will leave me alone and I won't be subjected to the humiliating jab in the backside to rid myself of malaria. Apparently, when the kids at the orphanage get malaria, they just have to wait it out, unless of course, it becomes life threatening.

It's probably also good to note that my placement has changed at the last minute. Still at an orphanage but at one that has some of the worst conditions, so this will be highly challenging. Apparently, a lot of the kids are living with foster families until the orphanage can be back up to scratch. I will also be alone for the first two weeks until a girl called Lucy from England arrives to help. She will be staying for 6 months, but I look forward to having a partner in crime and someone to explore Ghana with on our free time.

I start work at the hospital in June but details are still unclear. I think I will have to start working in the mode of taking each day by day instead of super organised and my next 10 years of life all planned out from my wedding to my first child.

Well, I think it's time to shut down the computer and watch Atonement on my ipod...

wow... someone just did a brutal egg fart... the heat isn't making it smell any better!

Till next time, be safe and smile.
xoxox

Advertisement



16th May 2008

Hey You Whoever smelt it, dealt it! I'm sure you will be fine with whatever the placement. Be safe! Luv ya Pauline
18th May 2008

yo
sounds like you're having a ball haha... take lots of photos so we can see xo

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb