Hobart to Abu Dhabi


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, here I sit looking out the window at Abu Dhabi airport. Looks just the same as Sydney or Melbourne... could be anywhere really.

Looking out the window of the plane coming down though it was unmistakable that is wasn't just anywhere. Sand, sand and more sand. Oh and did I mention that there was a lot of sand.

I decided not to do a stopover here; too anxious to get to Italy! Flight from Hobart was fast... flight from Melbourne to Abu Dhabi was slow! Seriously though, not too bad for a 14-hour flight. I think I slept for about three hours. Pretty good considering how cramped it was. The flight was absolutely full... not a spare seat to be had. I flew Etihad, the national carrier of the UAE. Food was pretty good, everything complimentary including movies and alcohol. I watched two movies and had half a glass of white wine... it was warm and sickening, so I went back to water.

Currently I'm trying to find a quiet corner in Gate Lounge 34. There is a screaming kid in here... and I mean screaming! I'm enjoying a pretty good cuppuccino though... better than the one I had from Hudsons at Melbourne Airport.

I passed through customs and immigration without any hitches... I'm carrying three siringes and nobody batted an eyelid. See how it goes when I land in Milan.

Not much else to report. Getting ready for the last 6-hour leg of the journey now. Jeez I hope they leave that screaming kid here in the airport when the flight boards!

Not much here to make anyone jealous of my trip thus far... but wait for it!

Love to all,

Cath

PS. Post card for Lindsay forthcoming!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb