New Class - Take Two!!


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

My classroom 2011/12 - Take two!!!!!

Thought I would update you with some pics of my "new" classroom. As some of you are aware, I got bumped out of the all girls school I was at (Khadeeji Al Kubra School - Grade 4). There was too many teachers and not enough students for (3) grade 4 teachers. So,they increased the class sizes to 28 and moved me to another school.

Well, one word of advice, "be careful what you wish for" as they say...lol. When I originally transferred, I wanted boys AND to stay on the Island of Abu Dhabi, so that I could walk or bus to work. Well, both of my wishes were granted.

I am teaching Grade 2 boys (Al Mostaqbal School) AND it is only a 10 min. 'walk' from my apartment...now for the reason for 'careful wishing'....boys are CRAZZZYYYY!!! They were right (speaking from teachers that have taught them in this country that is). This school is ALL men...the school nurse and myself are the only women in the school. The young boys are full of energy (sugar induced, from all the chips and candy they bring to school). They run around barefoot throughout the school on their break and before school. Many of them arrive an hour before school starts (which is 7: 30 a.m.), their feet are BLACK!!!!

I had to have them move 2 boys from one of my classes (I teach 2 classes math, english, and science - 1/2 day each), because they were out of control and got the entire class roweled up. I am just NOW after 3 weeks, beginning to gain 'some' control over and respect from, the remainder of the students. Let me tell you, I fall into bed each night by 7 p.m.......exhausted!!! The older boys are just now getting tired of running around the school at break time calling me "ghost" (apparently due to my light coloured hair and eyes...so they say to my colleagues...lol). I am sure things will improve with time.....inshallah (as they say here). I have set-up the classroom with reward systems for good behaviour and LOTS of activities to keep the boys engaged and focused.

Well, enough for now. This year should be a challenging one, to say the least. I added a few pics of my "new" classroom (after yet ANOTHER full weekend of setting it up) and a few of the 'little darlings'. I haven't commented on them individually, I will simply let them speak for themselves.

Enjoy....and pray for me!!!!!!! xo
(nah....I can handle it....they are already growing on me....I have a weakness for boys, no matter).

P.S. I LOVE my fellow LT's (licensed teachers ...that is to how we are referred). Men are awesome and fun to work with. No drama. One of the benefits of teaching at an all boys school!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb